Commander Salary in Ontario (2025)
1,939 disclosed records, 1996–2025 · mostly Government of Ontario – Ministries (95%)
At a Glance
2025
Disclosed
47
2025 Sunshine List
Median Salary
$175,258
+43.3% vs provincial median
Typical Range
$157,297–$212,855
25th–75th percentile
Top Salary
$364,841
Who is the highest-paid Commander in Ontario?
The highest-paid Commander on the 2025 Sunshine List was Christopher Harkins at Ontario Provincial Police, with a salary of $364,841; the median among the 47 listed under this title was $175,258.
Take-Home Pay
(After Tax) · 2025 estimate
A Commander paid the 2025 median of $175,258 would take home roughly $117,785 after income tax, CPP and EI — about $9,815 a month, an effective rate of about 29.7%. Half of those listed earned between $157,297 and $212,855. 47 people were listed under this title in 2025. That is about 43% above the 2025 median across the whole list, $122,262. After pension contributions (probably PSPP or OPTrust in this sector), take-home is usually a further 7–10% lower.
- Estimated net pay
- ~$117,785
- Effective income-tax rate (excl. CPP/EI)
- ~29.7%
- CPP + EI contributions
- ~$5,507
- Per month, after tax
- ~$9,815
Where does $175,258 rank on the Sunshine List? →
Estimate only: 2025 federal and Ontario rates, basic personal amounts, Canada employment amount and CPP/EI credits; single, employment income only, salary treated as full-year income. Ignores pension contributions (OMERS, HOOPP, OTPP, OPTrust and similar plans lower actual take-home), union dues, RRSPs and benefits.
Median by Year
2005–2025
Median salary paid among disclosed records. 2023 is absent: job titles were not disclosed that year. Years with fewer than five people are omitted.
Where They Work
2025 · employers with 5+
| Employer | People | Median | Top | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ontario Provincial Police | 27 | $208,054 | $364,841 | Pay here → |
| County of Renfrew | 10 | $149,688 | $169,742 | Pay here → |
| Regional Municipality of York | 5 | $158,393 | $170,117 | Pay here → |
Highest Paid
2025
| # | Name | Employer | Title as filed | Salary | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Christopher Harkins | Ontario Provincial Police | Commander | $364,841 | $366,367 |
| 2 | Marty Kearns | Ontario Provincial Police | Commander | $352,721 | $353,101 |
| 3 | Karen Meyer | Ontario Provincial Police | Commander | $343,378 | $344,078 |
| 4 | Kari Dart | Ontario Provincial Police | Commander | $341,691 | $342,805 |
| 5 | Rohan Thompson | Ontario Provincial Police | Commander | $276,518 | $277,142 |
| 6 | Andre Phelps | Ontario Provincial Police | Commander | $272,763 | $274,536 |
| 7 | Andrew Kraemer | Ontario Provincial Police | Commander | $247,270 | $247,524 |
| 8 | Richard Walker | Ontario Provincial Police | Commander | $243,001 | $243,259 |
| 9 | Vivien Lee | Ontario Provincial Police | Commander | $226,049 | $228,572 |
| 10 | Cheryl Davidson | Ontario Provincial Police | Commander | $224,879 | $225,160 |
By Year
Related Positions
- General Duty Officer2,942
- Law Enforcement Officer2,864
- Team Leader1,492
- Investigator1,192
- Assistant Crown Attorney997
- Senior Policy Advisor933
- Supervisor874
- Counsel737
About these figures
Source: Ontario’s Public Sector Salary Disclosure (the “Sunshine List”), which names every public-sector employee paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year. Figures are disclosed salaries, not market compensation: anyone in this position earning under $100,000 does not appear, so medians here sit above the true median for the job.
Medians and percentiles use salary paid (benefits excluded), computed over records whose filed job title was normalized into this position. Titles are as each employer filed them; spellings, word order and bilingual forms are merged. Employers and years with fewer than five people show counts only. 2023: job titles were not disclosed, so that year has no position data. Titles before 2005 were abbreviated at source; the chart starts at 2005.
Data through 2025, the most recent Sunshine List disclosed.