Crown Attorney Salary in Ontario (2025)
1,407 disclosed records, 1996–2025 · mostly Government of Ontario – Ministries (100%)
Records filed simply as “Crown Attorney”, without a level or specialty. For level-specific figures see Assistant Crown Attorney.
At a Glance
2025
Disclosed
58
2025 Sunshine List
Median Salary
$341,880
+179.6% vs provincial median
Typical Range
$321,408–$363,101
25th–75th percentile
Top Salary
$397,428
Who is the highest-paid Crown Attorney in Ontario?
The highest-paid Crown Attorney on the 2025 Sunshine List was Laura Grant at Attorney General, with a salary of $397,428; the median among the 58 listed under this title was $341,880.
Take-Home Pay
(After Tax) · 2025 estimate
A Crown Attorney paid the 2025 median of $341,880 would take home roughly $198,829 after federal and Ontario income tax — about $16,569 a month, an effective rate of about 40.2%. Half of those listed earned between $321,408 and $363,101. That is about 180% above the 2025 median across the whole list, $122,262. 58 people were listed under this title in 2025. After pension contributions (probably PSPP or OPTrust in this sector), take-home is usually a further 7–10% lower.
- Estimated net pay
- ~$198,829
- Effective income-tax rate (excl. CPP/EI)
- ~40.2%
- CPP + EI contributions
- ~$5,507
- Per month, after tax
- ~$16,569
Where does $341,880 rank on the Sunshine List? →
Estimate only: 2025 federal and Ontario rates, basic personal amounts, Canada employment amount and CPP/EI credits; single, employment income only, salary treated as full-year income. Ignores pension contributions (OMERS, HOOPP, OTPP, OPTrust and similar plans lower actual take-home), union dues, RRSPs and benefits.
Median by Year
2005–2025
Median salary paid among disclosed records. 2023 is absent: job titles were not disclosed that year. Years with fewer than five people are omitted.
Where They Work
2025 · employers with 5+
| Employer | People | Median | Top |
|---|---|---|---|
| Attorney General | 58 | $341,880 | $397,428 |
Highest Paid
2025
| # | Name | Employer | Title as filed | Salary | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Laura Grant | Attorney General | Crown Attorney | $397,428 | $397,761 |
| 2 | Paul Murray | Attorney General | Crown Attorney | $377,892 | $378,256 |
| 3 | Eric Taylor | Attorney General | Crown Attorney | $375,085 | $375,443 |
| 4 | Lyndsay Jeanes | Attorney General | Crown Attorney | $374,595 | $374,959 |
| 5 | Darilynn Allison | Attorney General | Crown Attorney | $374,565 | $374,929 |
| 6 | Lee Burgess | Attorney General | Crown Attorney | $374,475 | $374,838 |
| 7 | Dale Cox | Attorney General | Crown Attorney | $374,475 | $374,838 |
| 8 | Alan Findlay | Attorney General | Crown Attorney | $372,952 | $373,315 |
| 9 | Serge Hamel | Attorney General | Crown Attorney | $366,752 | $367,115 |
| 10 | Sean Doyle | Attorney General | Crown Attorney | $365,989 | $366,353 |
By Year
Related Positions
- General Duty Officer2,942
- Law Enforcement Officer2,864
- Team Leader1,492
- Investigator1,192
- Assistant Crown Attorney997
- Senior Policy Advisor933
- Supervisor874
- Counsel737
About these figures
Source: Ontario’s Public Sector Salary Disclosure (the “Sunshine List”), which names every public-sector employee paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year. Figures are disclosed salaries, not market compensation: anyone in this position earning under $100,000 does not appear, so medians here sit above the true median for the job.
Medians and percentiles use salary paid (benefits excluded), computed over records whose filed job title was normalized into this position. Titles are as each employer filed them; spellings, word order and bilingual forms are merged. Employers and years with fewer than five people show counts only. 2023: job titles were not disclosed, so that year has no position data. Titles before 2005 were abbreviated at source; the chart starts at 2005.
Data through 2025, the most recent Sunshine List disclosed.