Director Special Projects Salary in Ontario (2025)
144 disclosed records, 1996–2025 · mostly Government of Ontario – Ministries (26%)
Last filed under this title in 2025. Fewer than 20 records in the latest Sunshine List, so this page is kept for history.
At a Glance
2025
Disclosed
8
2025 Sunshine List
Median Salary
$164,757
+34.8% vs provincial median
Typical Range
$116,799–$206,314
25th–75th percentile
Top Salary
$232,599
Who is the highest-paid Director Special Projects in Ontario?
The highest-paid Director Special Projects on the 2025 Sunshine List was Janet Gates at Ontario Heritage Trust, with a salary of $232,599; the median among the 8 listed under this title was $164,757.
Take-Home Pay
(After Tax) · 2025 estimate
A Director Special Projects paid the 2025 median of $164,757 would take home roughly $112,006 after income tax, CPP and EI — about $9,334 a month, an effective rate of about 28.7%. Across every sector the 2025 median was $122,262, so this position sits about 35% above it. The middle half of Director Special Projects salaries ran from $116,799 to $206,314. After pension contributions (probably PSPP or OPTrust in this sector), take-home is usually a further 7–10% lower.
- Estimated net pay
- ~$112,006
- Effective income-tax rate (excl. CPP/EI)
- ~28.7%
- CPP + EI contributions
- ~$5,507
- Per month, after tax
- ~$9,334
Where does $164,757 rank on the Sunshine List? →
Estimate only: 2025 federal and Ontario rates, basic personal amounts, Canada employment amount and CPP/EI credits; single, employment income only, salary treated as full-year income. Ignores pension contributions (OMERS, HOOPP, OTPP, OPTrust and similar plans lower actual take-home), union dues, RRSPs and benefits.
Median by Year
2005–2025
Median salary paid among disclosed records. 2023 is absent: job titles were not disclosed that year. Years with fewer than five people are omitted.
Highest Paid
2025
| # | Name | Employer | Title as filed | Salary | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Janet Gates | Ontario Heritage Trust | Director, Special Projects | $232,599 | $232,849 |
| 2 | Wen Ren | Municipal Affairs and Housing | Director, Special Projects | $218,593 | $218,834 |
| 3 | Petek Oktem | Metrolinx | Director, Special Projects / Directeur, Projets spéciaux | $206,314 | $206,573 |
| 4 | A Elizabeth Mullen | City Of Oshawa | Director, Special Projects | $166,367 | $166,958 |
| 5 | Jennifer Mccleary | McMaster University | Director, Special Projects | $163,146 | $163,490 |
| 6 | William Carter | Toronto Metropolitan University | Director Special Projects | $151,228 | $151,600 |
| 7 | Andrew Pearce | City Of Vaughan | Director, Special Projects | $116,799 | $116,799 |
| 8 | Debbie Dos Ramos | Fred Victor Centre | Director, Special Projects | $108,179 | $118,709 |
By Year
Related Positions
- General Duty Officer2,942
- Law Enforcement Officer2,864
- Team Leader1,492
- Investigator1,192
- Assistant Crown Attorney997
- Senior Policy Advisor933
- Supervisor874
- Counsel737
About these figures
Source: Ontario’s Public Sector Salary Disclosure (the “Sunshine List”), which names every public-sector employee paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year. Figures are disclosed salaries, not market compensation: anyone in this position earning under $100,000 does not appear, so medians here sit above the true median for the job.
Medians and percentiles use salary paid (benefits excluded), computed over records whose filed job title was normalized into this position. Titles are as each employer filed them; spellings, word order and bilingual forms are merged. Employers and years with fewer than five people show counts only. 2023: job titles were not disclosed, so that year has no position data. Titles before 2005 were abbreviated at source; the chart starts at 2005.
Data through 2025, the most recent Sunshine List disclosed.