Probation Officer Salary in Ontario (2025)
216 disclosed records, 2019–2025 · mostly Government of Ontario – Ministries (100%)
At a Glance
2025
Disclosed
97
2025 Sunshine List
Median Salary
$100,541
-17.8% vs provincial median
Typical Range
$100,541–$100,541
25th–75th percentile
Top Salary
$119,980
Who is the highest-paid Probation Officer in Ontario?
The highest-paid Probation Officer on the 2025 Sunshine List was Cherie Banbury at Children, Community and Social Services, with a salary of $119,980; the median among the 97 listed under this title was $100,541.
Take-Home Pay
(After Tax) · 2025 estimate
A Probation Officer paid the 2025 median of $100,541 would take home roughly $74,395 after income tax, CPP and EI — about $6,200 a month, an effective rate of about 20.5%. That is about 18% below the 2025 median across the whole list, $122,262. Half of those listed earned between $100,541 and $100,541. Most Government of Ontario – Ministries employees belong to PSPP or OPTrust, so actual take-home is likely another 7–10% lower after pension contributions.
- Estimated net pay
- ~$74,395
- Effective income-tax rate (excl. CPP/EI)
- ~20.5%
- CPP + EI contributions
- ~$5,507
- Per month, after tax
- ~$6,200
Where does $100,541 rank on the Sunshine List? →
Estimate only: 2025 federal and Ontario rates, basic personal amounts, Canada employment amount and CPP/EI credits; single, employment income only, salary treated as full-year income. Ignores pension contributions (OMERS, HOOPP, OTPP, OPTrust and similar plans lower actual take-home), union dues, RRSPs and benefits.
Median by Year
2005–2025
Median salary paid among disclosed records. 2023 is absent: job titles were not disclosed that year. Years with fewer than five people are omitted.
Where They Work
2025 · employers with 5+
| Employer | People | Median | Top | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Children, Community and Social Services | 97 | $100,541 | $119,980 | Pay here → |
Highest Paid
2025
| # | Name | Employer | Title as filed | Salary | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Cherie Banbury | Children, Community and Social Services | Probation Officer | $119,980 | $120,225 |
| 2 | Allister George | Children, Community and Social Services | Probation Officer | $119,063 | $119,297 |
| 3 | Soy Ward | Children, Community and Social Services | Probation Officer | $108,856 | $109,077 |
| 4 | Erin Holland | Children, Community and Social Services | Probation Officer | $108,393 | $108,616 |
| 5 | Jason Mcdonald | Children, Community and Social Services | Probation Officer | $108,214 | $108,439 |
| 6 | Jill Andress | Children, Community and Social Services | Probation Officer | $105,239 | $105,453 |
| 7 | Craig Landon | Children, Community and Social Services | Probation Officer | $104,161 | $104,374 |
| 8 | Lindsay Ceschia | Children, Community and Social Services | Probation Officer | $103,129 | $103,324 |
| 9 | Brandee Sisco | Children, Community and Social Services | Probation Officer | $102,066 | $102,280 |
| 10 | Robert Hawkins | Children, Community and Social Services | Probation Officer | $101,581 | $101,795 |
By Year
Related Positions
- General Duty Officer2,942
- Law Enforcement Officer2,864
- Team Leader1,492
- Investigator1,192
- Assistant Crown Attorney997
- Senior Policy Advisor933
- Supervisor874
- Counsel737
About these figures
Source: Ontario’s Public Sector Salary Disclosure (the “Sunshine List”), which names every public-sector employee paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year. Figures are disclosed salaries, not market compensation: anyone in this position earning under $100,000 does not appear, so medians here sit above the true median for the job.
Medians and percentiles use salary paid (benefits excluded), computed over records whose filed job title was normalized into this position. Titles are as each employer filed them; spellings, word order and bilingual forms are merged. Employers and years with fewer than five people show counts only. 2023: job titles were not disclosed, so that year has no position data.
Data through 2025, the most recent Sunshine List disclosed.