Unit Leader Salary in Ontario (2025)
326 disclosed records, 2006–2025 · mostly Government of Ontario – Ministries (100%)
Last filed under this title in 2025. Fewer than 20 records in the latest Sunshine List, so this page is kept for history.
At a Glance
2025
Disclosed
14
2025 Sunshine List
Median Salary
$181,541
+48.5% vs provincial median
Typical Range
$172,945–$194,805
25th–75th percentile
Top Salary
$213,086
Who is the highest-paid Unit Leader in Ontario?
The highest-paid Unit Leader on the 2025 Sunshine List was Christian St-Amour at Ontario Provincial Police, with a salary of $213,086; the median among the 14 listed under this title was $181,541.
Take-Home Pay
(After Tax) · 2025 estimate
At the 2025 median salary of $181,541, a Unit Leader keeps roughly $121,157 after income tax, CPP and EI (about 30.2% effective), or about $10,096 a month. The middle half of Unit Leader salaries ran from $172,945 to $194,805. That is about 48% above the 2025 median across the whole list, $122,262. Most Government of Ontario – Ministries employees belong to PSPP or OPTrust, so actual take-home is likely another 7–10% lower after pension contributions.
- Estimated net pay
- ~$121,157
- Effective income-tax rate (excl. CPP/EI)
- ~30.2%
- CPP + EI contributions
- ~$5,507
- Per month, after tax
- ~$10,096
Where does $181,541 rank on the Sunshine List? →
Estimate only: 2025 federal and Ontario rates, basic personal amounts, Canada employment amount and CPP/EI credits; single, employment income only, salary treated as full-year income. Ignores pension contributions (OMERS, HOOPP, OTPP, OPTrust and similar plans lower actual take-home), union dues, RRSPs and benefits.
Median by Year
2005–2025
Median salary paid among disclosed records. 2023 is absent: job titles were not disclosed that year. Years with fewer than five people are omitted.
Where They Work
2025 · employers with 5+
| Employer | People | Median | Top | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ontario Provincial Police | 14 | $181,541 | $213,086 | Pay here → |
Highest Paid
2025
| # | Name | Employer | Title as filed | Salary | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Christian St-Amour | Ontario Provincial Police | Unit Leader | $213,086 | $213,296 |
| 2 | Mathew Caissie | Ontario Provincial Police | Unit Leader | $205,644 | $205,868 |
| 3 | Richard Brockman | Ontario Provincial Police | Unit Leader | $203,698 | $203,919 |
| 4 | Jarrod Brown | Ontario Provincial Police | Unit Leader | $194,805 | $195,026 |
| 5 | Armin Schatzler | Ontario Provincial Police | Unit Leader | $194,551 | $194,772 |
| 6 | Denis Hotte | Ontario Provincial Police | Unit Leader | $184,254 | $184,475 |
| 7 | Laine Valley | Ontario Provincial Police | Unit Leader | $181,828 | $182,049 |
| 8 | David Wardley | Ontario Provincial Police | Unit Leader | $181,254 | $181,456 |
| 9 | Matthew Verdone | Ontario Provincial Police | Unit Leader | $180,337 | $180,551 |
| 10 | Judith Anderson | Ontario Provincial Police | Unit Leader | $174,684 | $174,913 |
By Year
Related Positions
- General Duty Officer2,942
- Law Enforcement Officer2,864
- Team Leader1,492
- Investigator1,192
- Assistant Crown Attorney997
- Senior Policy Advisor933
- Supervisor874
- Counsel737
About these figures
Source: Ontario’s Public Sector Salary Disclosure (the “Sunshine List”), which names every public-sector employee paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year. Figures are disclosed salaries, not market compensation: anyone in this position earning under $100,000 does not appear, so medians here sit above the true median for the job.
Medians and percentiles use salary paid (benefits excluded), computed over records whose filed job title was normalized into this position. Titles are as each employer filed them; spellings, word order and bilingual forms are merged. Employers and years with fewer than five people show counts only. 2023: job titles were not disclosed, so that year has no position data.
Data through 2025, the most recent Sunshine List disclosed.