Chief Executive Officer Salary in Ontario (2025)
5,761 disclosed records, 1996–2025 · mostly Other Public Sector Employers (68%)
At a Glance
2025
Disclosed
467
2025 Sunshine List
Median Salary
$183,562
+50.1% vs provincial median
Typical Range
$152,005–$233,645
25th–75th percentile
Top Salary
$826,000
Who is the highest-paid Chief Executive Officer in Ontario?
The highest-paid Chief Executive Officer on the 2025 Sunshine List was Matthew Anderson at Ontario Health, with a salary of $826,000; the median among the 467 listed under this title was $183,562.
Take-Home Pay
(After Tax) · 2025 estimate
At the 2025 median salary of $183,562, a Chief Executive Officer keeps roughly $122,203 after income tax, CPP and EI (about 30.4% effective), or about $10,184 a month. The 2025 list carries 467 people filed as Chief Executive Officer. That is about 50% above the 2025 median across the whole list, $122,262. Members of OMERS, OTPP, HOOPP or OPTrust typically take home another 7–10% less after pension contributions, which this estimate leaves out.
- Estimated net pay
- ~$122,203
- Effective income-tax rate (excl. CPP/EI)
- ~30.4%
- CPP + EI contributions
- ~$5,507
- Per month, after tax
- ~$10,184
Where does $183,562 rank on the Sunshine List? →
Estimate only: 2025 federal and Ontario rates, basic personal amounts, Canada employment amount and CPP/EI credits; single, employment income only, salary treated as full-year income. Ignores pension contributions (OMERS, HOOPP, OTPP, OPTrust and similar plans lower actual take-home), union dues, RRSPs and benefits.
Median by Year
2005–2025
Median salary paid among disclosed records. 2023 is absent: job titles were not disclosed that year. Years with fewer than five people are omitted.
Highest Paid
2025
| # | Name | Employer | Title as filed | Salary | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Matthew Anderson | Ontario Health | Chief Executive Officer/Président-directeur général | $826,000 | $836,803 |
| 2 | Gadi Mayman | Ontario Financing Authority | Chief Executive Officer | $801,046 | $801,905 |
| 3 | David G. Vingoe | Ontario Securities Commission | Chief Executive Officer / Chef de la direction | $697,973 | $699,720 |
| 4 | Doris Grinspun | Registered Nurses Association Of Ontario | Chief Executive Officer | $650,965 | $650,965 |
| 5 | Richard Leary | City Of Toronto – Toronto Transit Commission | Chief Executive Officer | $597,192 | $598,317 |
| 6 | Peter Werstiuk | Quantum Valley Ideas Laboratories | Chief Executive Officer | $552,150 | $553,637 |
| 7 | James Wallace | Supply Ontario | Chief Executive Officer / Directeur général | $550,423 | $551,986 |
| 8 | Angela Clayton | Ontario Infrastructure And Lands Corporation (Infrastructure Ontario) | Chief Executive Officer/Directeur général | $545,609 | $568,954 |
| 9 | Michael Lindsay | Ontario Infrastructure And Lands Corporation (Infrastructure Ontario) | Chief Executive Officer/Directeur général | $531,991 | $551,730 |
| 10 | George Zegarac | Toronto Waterfront Revitalization Corporation | Chief Executive Officer | $513,274 | $531,262 |
By Year
Related Positions
About these figures
Source: Ontario’s Public Sector Salary Disclosure (the “Sunshine List”), which names every public-sector employee paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year. Figures are disclosed salaries, not market compensation: anyone in this position earning under $100,000 does not appear, so medians here sit above the true median for the job.
Medians and percentiles use salary paid (benefits excluded), computed over records whose filed job title was normalized into this position. Titles are as each employer filed them; spellings, word order and bilingual forms are merged. Employers and years with fewer than five people show counts only. 2023: job titles were not disclosed, so that year has no position data. Titles before 2005 were abbreviated at source; the chart starts at 2005.
Data through 2025, the most recent Sunshine List disclosed.