Director, Finance Salary in Ontario (2025)
2,658 disclosed records, 1997–2025 · mostly Other Public Sector Employers (44%)
At a Glance
2025
Disclosed
277
2025 Sunshine List
Median Salary
$135,194
+10.6% vs provincial median
Typical Range
$118,238–$160,065
25th–75th percentile
Top Salary
$265,572
Who is the highest-paid Director, Finance in Ontario?
The highest-paid Director, Finance on the 2025 Sunshine List was Xiao Yu (Jerry) Zhang at iGaming Ontario, with a salary of $265,572; the median among the 277 listed under this title was $135,194.
Take-Home Pay
(After Tax) · 2025 estimate
Federal and Ontario income tax on the 2025 Director, Finance median of $135,194 comes to about 25.3%, leaving roughly $95,490 a year — about $7,958 a month. The 2025 list carries 277 people filed as Director, Finance. Across every sector the 2025 median was $122,262, so this position sits about 11% above it. Members of OMERS, OTPP, HOOPP or OPTrust typically take home another 7–10% less after pension contributions, which this estimate leaves out.
- Estimated net pay
- ~$95,490
- Effective income-tax rate (excl. CPP/EI)
- ~25.3%
- CPP + EI contributions
- ~$5,507
- Per month, after tax
- ~$7,958
Where does $135,194 rank on the Sunshine List? →
Estimate only: 2025 federal and Ontario rates, basic personal amounts, Canada employment amount and CPP/EI credits; single, employment income only, salary treated as full-year income. Ignores pension contributions (OMERS, HOOPP, OTPP, OPTrust and similar plans lower actual take-home), union dues, RRSPs and benefits.
Median by Year
2005–2025
Median salary paid among disclosed records. 2023 is absent: job titles were not disclosed that year. Years with fewer than five people are omitted.
Where They Work
2025 · employers with 5+
| Employer | People | Median | Top | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University Health Network | 11 | $158,257 | $200,936 | Pay here → |
| University of Toronto | 8 | $134,179 | $169,955 | Pay here → |
Highest Paid
2025
| # | Name | Employer | Title as filed | Salary | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Xiao Yu (Jerry) Zhang | iGaming Ontario | Director, Finance/Directeur des finances | $265,572 | $266,230 |
| 2 | Joelle Daniels | City Of Brantford | Director, Finance | $238,219 | $240,094 |
| 3 | Rachel Wainwright-Van Kessel | Town Of Aurora | Director, Finance | $233,189 | $238,788 |
| 4 | Karen Doobay | Regional Municipality Of Peel Police Services | Director Finance | $227,372 | $256,128 |
| 5 | Dianne Valentim | Town Of Ajax | Director of Finance | $224,705 | $225,693 |
| 6 | Jason Poliszczak | Nishnawbe Aski Police Services | Director of Finance | $222,782 | $225,238 |
| 7 | Robert Greene | Supply Ontario | Director, Finance / Directeur des finances | $218,702 | $219,341 |
| 8 | Caroline Reid | Kingston Health Sciences Centre | Director of Finance\Directrice des finances | $210,042 | $210,616 |
| 9 | Ian Goodfellow | Town Of Bradford West Gwillimbury | Director of Finance | $209,691 | $211,403 |
| 10 | Tiffany Clark | City Of Niagara Falls | Director of Finance | $205,189 | $205,771 |
By Year
Related Positions
About these figures
Source: Ontario’s Public Sector Salary Disclosure (the “Sunshine List”), which names every public-sector employee paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year. Figures are disclosed salaries, not market compensation: anyone in this position earning under $100,000 does not appear, so medians here sit above the true median for the job.
Medians and percentiles use salary paid (benefits excluded), computed over records whose filed job title was normalized into this position. Titles are as each employer filed them; spellings, word order and bilingual forms are merged. Employers and years with fewer than five people show counts only. 2023: job titles were not disclosed, so that year has no position data. Titles before 2005 were abbreviated at source; the chart starts at 2005.
Data through 2025, the most recent Sunshine List disclosed.