Skip to content

Client Lawyer Salary in Ontario (2025)

253 disclosed records, 19962025 · mostly Government of Ontario – Ministries (100%)

Last filed under this title in 2025. Fewer than 20 records in the latest Sunshine List, so this page is kept for history.

At a Glance
2025

Disclosed

14

2025 Sunshine List

Median Salary

$188,910

+54.5% vs provincial median

Typical Range

$155,486–$203,411

25th–75th percentile

Top Salary

$326,410

Who is the highest-paid Client Lawyer in Ontario?

The highest-paid Client Lawyer on the 2025 Sunshine List was Donald Kim at Attorney General, with a salary of $326,410; the median among the 14 listed under this title was $188,910.

Donald Kim

Take-Home Pay
(After Tax) · 2025 estimate

A Client Lawyer paid the 2025 median of $188,910 would take home roughly $124,968 after federal and Ontario income tax — about $10,414 a month, an effective rate of about 30.9%. The 2025 list carries 14 people filed as Client Lawyer. That is about 55% above the 2025 median across the whole list, $122,262. After pension contributions (probably PSPP or OPTrust in this sector), take-home is usually a further 7–10% lower.

Estimated net pay
~$124,968
Effective income-tax rate (excl. CPP/EI)
~30.9%
CPP + EI contributions
~$5,507
Per month, after tax
~$10,414

Where does $188,910 rank on the Sunshine List? →

Estimate only: 2025 federal and Ontario rates, basic personal amounts, Canada employment amount and CPP/EI credits; single, employment income only, salary treated as full-year income. Ignores pension contributions (OMERS, HOOPP, OTPP, OPTrust and similar plans lower actual take-home), union dues, RRSPs and benefits.

Median by Year
20052025

Median salary paid among disclosed records. 2023 is absent: job titles were not disclosed that year. Years with fewer than five people are omitted.

Where They Work
2025 · employers with 5+

EmployerPeopleMedianTopDetail
Attorney General14$188,910$326,410Pay here →

Highest Paid
2025

#NameEmployerTitle as filedSalaryTotal
1Donald KimAttorney GeneralClient Lawyer$326,410$326,736
2Richard CoutinhoAttorney GeneralClient Lawyer$241,942$242,264
3Mary PhanAttorney GeneralClient Lawyer$236,129$236,382
4Charles WaltersAttorney GeneralClient Lawyer$203,411$203,571
5Catarina Am FerreiraAttorney GeneralClient Lawyer$196,557$196,732
6Crystal Naiming LiuAttorney GeneralClient Lawyer$195,905$196,113
7Chithika WithanageAttorney GeneralClient Lawyer$195,292$195,292
8Mimi ChenAttorney GeneralClient Lawyer$182,529$182,728
9Matthew NgAttorney GeneralClient Lawyer$182,023$182,222
10Madison RandallAttorney GeneralClient Lawyer$156,501$156,672
All 14 Client Lawyer records, 2025

By Year

Related Positions

About these figures

Source: Ontario’s Public Sector Salary Disclosure (the “Sunshine List”), which names every public-sector employee paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year. Figures are disclosed salaries, not market compensation: anyone in this position earning under $100,000 does not appear, so medians here sit above the true median for the job.

Medians and percentiles use salary paid (benefits excluded), computed over records whose filed job title was normalized into this position. Titles are as each employer filed them; spellings, word order and bilingual forms are merged. Employers and years with fewer than five people show counts only. 2023: job titles were not disclosed, so that year has no position data. Titles before 2005 were abbreviated at source; the chart starts at 2005.

Data through 2025, the most recent Sunshine List disclosed.