Fire Lieutenant Salary in Ontario (2025)
518 disclosed records, 2003–2025 · mostly Municipalities & Services (100%)
Last filed under this title in 2025. Fewer than 20 records in the latest Sunshine List, so this page is kept for history.
At a Glance
2025
Disclosed
11
2025 Sunshine List
Median Salary
$146,881
+20.1% vs provincial median
Typical Range
$138,503–$152,619
25th–75th percentile
Top Salary
$161,661
Who is the highest-paid Fire Lieutenant in Ontario?
The highest-paid Fire Lieutenant on the 2025 Sunshine List was Donald Brooks at City Of Woodstock, with a salary of $161,661; the median among the 11 listed under this title was $146,881.
Take-Home Pay
(After Tax) · 2025 estimate
At the 2025 median salary of $146,881, a Fire Lieutenant keeps roughly $102,104 after income tax, CPP and EI (about 26.7% effective), or about $8,509 a month. The 2025 list carries 11 people filed as Fire Lieutenant. That is about 20% above the 2025 median across the whole list, $122,262. Most Municipalities & Services employees belong to OMERS, so actual take-home is likely another 7–10% lower after pension contributions.
- Estimated net pay
- ~$102,104
- Effective income-tax rate (excl. CPP/EI)
- ~26.7%
- CPP + EI contributions
- ~$5,507
- Per month, after tax
- ~$8,509
Where does $146,881 rank on the Sunshine List? →
Estimate only: 2025 federal and Ontario rates, basic personal amounts, Canada employment amount and CPP/EI credits; single, employment income only, salary treated as full-year income. Ignores pension contributions (OMERS, HOOPP, OTPP, OPTrust and similar plans lower actual take-home), union dues, RRSPs and benefits.
Median by Year
2005–2025
Median salary paid among disclosed records. 2023 is absent: job titles were not disclosed that year. Years with fewer than five people are omitted.
Where They Work
2025 · employers with 5+
| Employer | People | Median | Top | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| City of Woodstock | 9 | $150,880 | $161,661 | Pay here → |
Highest Paid
2025
| # | Name | Employer | Title as filed | Salary | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Donald Brooks | City Of Woodstock | Lieutenant Fire | $161,661 | $163,577 |
| 2 | Rob Jeanson | City Of Woodstock | Lieutenant Fire | $159,725 | $161,641 |
| 3 | Christopher Ferrell | City Of Woodstock | Lieutenant Fire | $152,619 | $154,535 |
| 4 | Gerry Nicholson | City Of Woodstock | Lieutenant Fire | $152,179 | $154,095 |
| 5 | Sean Foster | City Of Woodstock | Lieutenant Fire | $150,880 | $152,796 |
| 6 | Peter Keith | City Of Woodstock | Lieutenant Fire | $146,881 | $148,797 |
| 7 | Shane Moyes | City Of Woodstock | Lieutenant Fire | $144,303 | $146,219 |
| 8 | Richard Martin | City Of Woodstock | Lieutenant Fire | $139,303 | $141,219 |
| 9 | John Macneil | Town Of Lasalle | Fire – Lieutenant | $138,503 | $139,318 |
| 10 | Mike Wellman | City Of Woodstock | Lieutenant Fire | $136,422 | $138,215 |
By Year
Related Positions
- Constable5,795
- Firefighter5,399
- Police Constable4,778
- Operator3,992
- Primary Care Paramedic2,883
- Sergeant1,600
- Captain1,385
- Plainclothes Police Constable1,286
About these figures
Source: Ontario’s Public Sector Salary Disclosure (the “Sunshine List”), which names every public-sector employee paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year. Figures are disclosed salaries, not market compensation: anyone in this position earning under $100,000 does not appear, so medians here sit above the true median for the job.
Medians and percentiles use salary paid (benefits excluded), computed over records whose filed job title was normalized into this position. Titles are as each employer filed them; spellings, word order and bilingual forms are merged. Employers and years with fewer than five people show counts only. 2023: job titles were not disclosed, so that year has no position data. Titles before 2005 were abbreviated at source; the chart starts at 2005.
Data through 2025, the most recent Sunshine List disclosed.