Skip to content

Firefighter Captain Salary in Ontario (2025)

297 disclosed records, 20082025 · mostly Municipalities & Services (99%)

At a Glance
2025

Disclosed

56

2025 Sunshine List

Median Salary

$162,650

+33.0% vs provincial median

Typical Range

$154,914–$167,022

25th–75th percentile

Top Salary

$188,847

Median by Year
20052025

Median salary paid among disclosed records. 2023 is absent: job titles were not disclosed that year. Years with fewer than five people are omitted.

Where They Work
2025 · employers with 5+

EmployerPeopleMedianTop
City of Cambridge25$162,975$180,179
Town of Whitchurch-stouffville8$159,741$167,783
Town of Bradford West Gwillimbury8$156,715$176,316

Highest Paid
2025

#NameEmployerTitle as filedSalaryTotal
1Douglas WardTown Of MidlandCaptain Firefighter$188,847$189,694
2Gary SinclairCity Of KenoraCaptain, Firefighter$185,674$186,773
3Gilles LeducCity Of TimminsFirefighter – Captain$180,702$181,628
4Luis GomesCity Of CambridgeFirefighter Captain$180,179$181,094
5Patrick NixonCity Of CambridgeFirefighter Captain$179,613$180,509
6Scott MurisonTown Of Bradford West GwillimburyFirefighter Captain$176,316$178,036
7Earl BichonCity Of KenoraCaptain, Firefighter$174,967$176,159
8Stephen MayneCity Of CambridgeFirefighter Captain$172,615$173,512
9John MavrinacCity Of TimminsFirefighter – Captain$170,905$171,831
10Paul BowmanCity Of CambridgeFirefighter Captain$169,680$170,596
All 56 Firefighter Captain records, 2025

By Year

Related Positions

About these figures

Source: Ontario’s Public Sector Salary Disclosure (the “Sunshine List”), which names every public-sector employee paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year. Figures are disclosed salaries, not market compensation: anyone in this position earning under $100,000 does not appear, so medians here sit above the true median for the job.

Medians and percentiles use salary paid (benefits excluded), computed over records whose filed job title was normalized into this position. Titles are as each employer filed them; spellings, word order and bilingual forms are merged. Employers and years with fewer than five people show counts only. 2023: job titles were not disclosed, so that year has no position data.

Data through 2025. Last updated 2026-09-06.