Skip to content

Sergeant, 1st Class Salary in Ontario (2025)

1,620 disclosed records, 19982025 · mostly Municipalities & Services (100%)

At a Glance
2025

Disclosed

136

2025 Sunshine List

Median Salary

$159,680

+30.6% vs provincial median

Typical Range

$154,344–$173,501

25th–75th percentile

Top Salary

$265,907

Median by Year
20052025

Median salary paid among disclosed records. 2023 is absent: job titles were not disclosed that year. Years with fewer than five people are omitted.

Where They Work
2025 · employers with 5+

EmployerPeopleMedianTop
City of Hamilton136$159,680$265,907

Highest Paid
2025

#NameEmployerTitle as filedSalaryTotal
1Sean GosselinCity Of HamiltonSergeant 1st Class$265,907$266,470
2David John KitchenCity Of HamiltonSergeant 1st Class$239,191$239,764
3Paul KentCity Of HamiltonSergeant 1st Class$224,992$225,588
4Mario RizzoCity Of HamiltonSergeant 1st Class$220,630$224,044
5Andrew TomsCity Of HamiltonSergeant 1st Class$215,841$216,448
6James PatersonCity Of HamiltonSergeant 1st Class$213,496$215,893
7Terence CahillCity Of HamiltonSergeant 1st Class$205,071$205,701
8Matthew FletcherCity Of HamiltonSergeant 1st Class$201,328$201,890
9Hung PhamCity Of HamiltonSergeant 1st Class$198,981$205,508
10Matthew ReedCity Of HamiltonSergeant 1st Class$196,821$198,578
All 136 Sergeant, 1st Class records, 2025

By Year

Related Positions

About these figures

Source: Ontario’s Public Sector Salary Disclosure (the “Sunshine List”), which names every public-sector employee paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year. Figures are disclosed salaries, not market compensation: anyone in this position earning under $100,000 does not appear, so medians here sit above the true median for the job.

Medians and percentiles use salary paid (benefits excluded), computed over records whose filed job title was normalized into this position. Titles are as each employer filed them; spellings, word order and bilingual forms are merged. Employers and years with fewer than five people show counts only. 2023: job titles were not disclosed, so that year has no position data. Titles before 2005 were abbreviated at source; the chart starts at 2005.

Data through 2025. Last updated 2026-09-06.