Chief Communications Officer Salary in Ontario (2025)
136 disclosed records, 2003–2025 · mostly Municipalities & Services (44%)
Last filed under this title in 2025. Fewer than 20 records in the latest Sunshine List, so this page is kept for history.
At a Glance
2025
Disclosed
18
2025 Sunshine List
Median Salary
$217,532
+77.9% vs provincial median
Typical Range
$170,251–$246,329
25th–75th percentile
Top Salary
$323,201
Who is the highest-paid Chief Communications Officer in Ontario?
The highest-paid Chief Communications Officer on the 2025 Sunshine List was Althea Blackburn-Evans at University Of Western Ontario, with a salary of $323,201; the median among the 18 listed under this title was $217,532.
Take-Home Pay
(After Tax) · 2025 estimate
At the 2025 median salary of $217,532, a Chief Communications Officer keeps roughly $139,623 after income tax, CPP and EI (about 33.3% effective), or about $11,635 a month. The middle half of Chief Communications Officer salaries ran from $170,251 to $246,329. 18 people were listed under this title in 2025. Pension contributions — likely OMERS in the Municipalities & Services sector — would typically trim another 7–10% off that figure.
- Estimated net pay
- ~$139,623
- Effective income-tax rate (excl. CPP/EI)
- ~33.3%
- CPP + EI contributions
- ~$5,507
- Per month, after tax
- ~$11,635
Where does $217,532 rank on the Sunshine List? →
Estimate only: 2025 federal and Ontario rates, basic personal amounts, Canada employment amount and CPP/EI credits; single, employment income only, salary treated as full-year income. Ignores pension contributions (OMERS, HOOPP, OTPP, OPTrust and similar plans lower actual take-home), union dues, RRSPs and benefits.
Median by Year
2005–2025
Median salary paid among disclosed records. 2023 is absent: job titles were not disclosed that year. Years with fewer than five people are omitted.
Highest Paid
2025
| # | Name | Employer | Title as filed | Salary | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Althea Blackburn-Evans | University Of Western Ontario | Chief Communications Officer | $323,201 | $323,301 |
| 2 | Ricky Landry | University Of Ottawa | Chef des communications / Chief Communications Officer | $261,432 | $261,432 |
| 3 | Melanie Gruer | The Ottawa Hospital | Chief Communications Officer/chef des Communications | $258,128 | $259,010 |
| 4 | Janine Hopkins | North York General Hospital | Chief Communications Officer | $255,661 | $256,132 |
| 5 | Leigh Duncan | Scarborough Health Network | Chief Communications Officer | $246,329 | $247,053 |
| 6 | Jennifer Ormston | City Of Vaughan | Chief Communications Officer | $240,422 | $241,281 |
| 7 | Julia Oosterman | City Of Toronto | Chief Communications Officer | $240,213 | $244,403 |
| 8 | Jo Ann Armitage | Trillium Health Partners | Chief Communications Officer | $235,614 | $236,629 |
| 9 | Wesley A Adair | City Of St Catharines | Chief Communications Officer | $223,253 | $224,256 |
| 10 | Barbara Joy | York University | Chief Communications Officer | $211,811 | $212,747 |
By Year
Related Positions
- Constable5,795
- Firefighter5,399
- Police Constable4,778
- Operator3,992
- Primary Care Paramedic2,883
- Sergeant1,600
- Captain1,385
- Plainclothes Police Constable1,286
About these figures
Source: Ontario’s Public Sector Salary Disclosure (the “Sunshine List”), which names every public-sector employee paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year. Figures are disclosed salaries, not market compensation: anyone in this position earning under $100,000 does not appear, so medians here sit above the true median for the job.
Medians and percentiles use salary paid (benefits excluded), computed over records whose filed job title was normalized into this position. Titles are as each employer filed them; spellings, word order and bilingual forms are merged. Employers and years with fewer than five people show counts only. 2023: job titles were not disclosed, so that year has no position data. Titles before 2005 were abbreviated at source; the chart starts at 2005.
Data through 2025, the most recent Sunshine List disclosed.