Fire Captain Salary in Ontario (2025)
6,431 disclosed records, 2002–2025 · mostly Municipalities & Services (100%)
At a Glance
2025
Disclosed
370
2025 Sunshine List
Median Salary
$162,542
+32.9% vs provincial median
Typical Range
$152,113–$167,491
25th–75th percentile
Top Salary
$233,889
Who is the highest-paid Fire Captain in Ontario?
The highest-paid Fire Captain on the 2025 Sunshine List was Ryan Henry at City Of Mississauga, with a salary of $233,889; the median among the 370 listed under this title was $162,542.
Take-Home Pay
(After Tax) · 2025 estimate
Federal and Ontario income tax on the 2025 Fire Captain median of $162,542 comes to about 28.5%, leaving roughly $110,787 a year — about $9,232 a month. Across every sector the 2025 median was $122,262, so this position sits about 33% above it. The 2025 list carries 370 people filed as Fire Captain. Pension contributions — likely OMERS in the Municipalities & Services sector — would typically trim another 7–10% off that figure.
- Estimated net pay
- ~$110,787
- Effective income-tax rate (excl. CPP/EI)
- ~28.5%
- CPP + EI contributions
- ~$5,507
- Per month, after tax
- ~$9,232
Where does $162,542 rank on the Sunshine List? →
Estimate only: 2025 federal and Ontario rates, basic personal amounts, Canada employment amount and CPP/EI credits; single, employment income only, salary treated as full-year income. Ignores pension contributions (OMERS, HOOPP, OTPP, OPTrust and similar plans lower actual take-home), union dues, RRSPs and benefits.
Median by Year
2005–2025
Median salary paid among disclosed records. 2023 is absent: job titles were not disclosed that year. Years with fewer than five people are omitted.
Where They Work
2025 · employers with 5+
| Employer | People | Median | Top | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| City of Mississauga | 136 | $164,542 | $233,889 | Pay here → |
| City of Kingston | 26 | $157,673 | $187,337 | Pay here → |
| City of Niagara Falls | 24 | $145,303 | $161,245 | Pay here → |
| City of Thunder Bay | 22 | $160,002 | $186,724 | Pay here → |
| City of Brantford | 22 | $150,144 | $166,890 | Pay here → |
| Municipality of Clarington | 16 | $169,060 | $190,598 | Pay here → |
| Town of Halton Hills | 12 | $164,322 | $189,480 | Pay here → |
| Corporation of the City of North Bay | 11 | $171,152 | $185,833 | Pay here → |
| Town of Caledon | 9 | $176,458 | $200,832 | Pay here → |
| City of Stratford | 8 | $169,806 | $185,984 | Pay here → |
| Town of Wasaga Beach | 8 | $168,978 | $203,956 | Pay here → |
| Municipality of Chatham-kent | 8 | $166,806 | $175,780 | Pay here → |
| City of St. Thomas | 8 | $163,035 | $200,617 | Pay here → |
| Town of Innisfil | 8 | $155,305 | $165,375 | Pay here → |
| City of Orillia | 8 | $152,049 | $179,181 | Pay here → |
Highest Paid
2025
| # | Name | Employer | Title as filed | Salary | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Ryan Henry | City Of Mississauga | Captain, Fire Suppression | $233,889 | $234,345 |
| 2 | Glenn Hyland | Town Of Wasaga Beach | Fire Captain | $203,956 | $205,218 |
| 3 | Dennis H Anselmi | Town Of Caledon | Captain Fire | $200,832 | $201,383 |
| 4 | Sean Hodgins | City Of St. Thomas | Captain, Fire | $200,617 | $201,814 |
| 5 | Christopher Livingston | Town Of Caledon | Captain Fire | $199,559 | $200,270 |
| 6 | Christopher W Corbet | City Of Mississauga | Captain, Fire Suppression | $198,588 | $199,062 |
| 7 | Scott Brett | City Of St. Thomas | Captain, Fire | $193,312 | $194,482 |
| 8 | Kevin Pike | Town Of Wasaga Beach | Fire Captain | $191,396 | $192,627 |
| 9 | Stewart Richardson | Municipality Of Clarington | Fire Captain | $190,598 | $192,145 |
| 10 | Jason Hansen | Municipality Of Clarington | Fire Captain | $190,463 | $192,010 |
By Year
Related Positions
- Constable5,795
- Firefighter5,399
- Police Constable4,778
- Operator3,992
- Primary Care Paramedic2,883
- Sergeant1,600
- Captain1,385
- Plainclothes Police Constable1,286
About these figures
Source: Ontario’s Public Sector Salary Disclosure (the “Sunshine List”), which names every public-sector employee paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year. Figures are disclosed salaries, not market compensation: anyone in this position earning under $100,000 does not appear, so medians here sit above the true median for the job.
Medians and percentiles use salary paid (benefits excluded), computed over records whose filed job title was normalized into this position. Titles are as each employer filed them; spellings, word order and bilingual forms are merged. Employers and years with fewer than five people show counts only. 2023: job titles were not disclosed, so that year has no position data. Titles before 2005 were abbreviated at source; the chart starts at 2005.
Data through 2025, the most recent Sunshine List disclosed.