President and Vice-chancellor Salary in Ontario (2025)
264 disclosed records, 1996–2025 · mostly Universities (95%)
Last filed under this title in 2025. Fewer than 20 records in the latest Sunshine List, so this page is kept for history.
At a Glance
2025
Disclosed
17
2025 Sunshine List
Median Salary
$372,292
+204.5% vs provincial median
Typical Range
$345,314–$410,192
25th–75th percentile
Top Salary
$506,000
Who is the highest-paid President and Vice-Chancellor in Ontario?
The highest-paid President and Vice-chancellor on the 2025 Sunshine List was Alan Shepard at University Of Western Ontario, with a salary of $506,000; the median among the 17 listed under this title was $372,292.
Take-Home Pay
(After Tax) · 2025 estimate
A President and Vice-chancellor paid the 2025 median of $372,292 would take home roughly $212,962 after income tax, CPP and EI — about $17,747 a month, an effective rate of about 41.3%. The 2025 list carries 17 people filed as President and Vice-chancellor. Across every sector the 2025 median was $122,262, so this position sits about 205% above it. Members of OMERS, OTPP, HOOPP or OPTrust typically take home another 7–10% less after pension contributions, which this estimate leaves out.
- Estimated net pay
- ~$212,962
- Effective income-tax rate (excl. CPP/EI)
- ~41.3%
- CPP + EI contributions
- ~$5,507
- Per month, after tax
- ~$17,747
Where does $372,292 rank on the Sunshine List? →
Estimate only: 2025 federal and Ontario rates, basic personal amounts, Canada employment amount and CPP/EI credits; single, employment income only, salary treated as full-year income. Ignores pension contributions (OMERS, HOOPP, OTPP, OPTrust and similar plans lower actual take-home), union dues, RRSPs and benefits.
Median by Year
2005–2025
Median salary paid among disclosed records. 2023 is absent: job titles were not disclosed that year. Years with fewer than five people are omitted.
Highest Paid
2025
| # | Name | Employer | Title as filed | Salary | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Alan Shepard | University Of Western Ontario | President and Vice-Chancellor | $506,000 | $550,608 |
| 2 | Rene Van Acker | University Of Guelph | President and Vice-Chancellor | $496,493 | $500,621 |
| 3 | Susan Tighe | McMaster University | President and Vice-Chancellor | $465,621 | $476,373 |
| 4 | Wisdom Tettey | Carleton University | President and Vice Chancellor | $419,502 | $452,889 |
| 5 | Charlotte Yates | University Of Guelph | President and Vice-Chancellor | $410,192 | $410,192 |
| 6 | Lesley Rigg Goldblum | Brock University | President and Vice-Chancellor | $395,000 | $407,512 |
| 7 | Cathy Bruce | Trent University | President and Vice-Chancellor | $372,299 | $386,088 |
| 8 | Leo Groarke | Trent University | President and Vice-Chancellor | $372,299 | $396,700 |
| 9 | Steven Murphy | Ontario Tech University | President and Vice-Chancellor | $372,292 | $382,726 |
| 10 | Marie-Eve Sylvestre | University Of Ottawa | Rectrice et vice-chancelière ou recteur et vice-chancelier / President and Vice-Chancellor | $369,060 | $376,260 |
By Year
Related Positions
About these figures
Source: Ontario’s Public Sector Salary Disclosure (the “Sunshine List”), which names every public-sector employee paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year. Figures are disclosed salaries, not market compensation: anyone in this position earning under $100,000 does not appear, so medians here sit above the true median for the job.
Medians and percentiles use salary paid (benefits excluded), computed over records whose filed job title was normalized into this position. Titles are as each employer filed them; spellings, word order and bilingual forms are merged. Employers and years with fewer than five people show counts only. 2023: job titles were not disclosed, so that year has no position data. Titles before 2005 were abbreviated at source; the chart starts at 2005.
Data through 2025, the most recent Sunshine List disclosed.