Associate Professor Salary in Ontario (2025)
64,949 disclosed records, 1996–2025 · mostly Universities (100%)
Records filed simply as “Associate Professor”, without a level or specialty. For level-specific figures see Associate Professor Teaching Stream.
At a Glance
2025
Disclosed
3,700
2025 Sunshine List
Median Salary
$174,209
+42.5% vs provincial median
Typical Range
$153,899–$193,800
25th–75th percentile
Top Salary
$382,260
Who is the highest-paid Associate Professor in Ontario?
The highest-paid Associate Professor on the 2025 Sunshine List was Blake Phillips at University Of Waterloo, with a salary of $382,260; the median among the 3,700 listed under this title was $174,209.
Take-Home Pay
(After Tax) · 2025 estimate
A Associate Professor paid the 2025 median of $174,209 would take home roughly $117,207 after income tax, CPP and EI — about $9,767 a month, an effective rate of about 29.6%. 3,700 people were listed under this title in 2025. That is about 42% above the 2025 median across the whole list, $122,262. Members of OMERS, OTPP, HOOPP or OPTrust typically take home another 7–10% less after pension contributions, which this estimate leaves out.
- Estimated net pay
- ~$117,207
- Effective income-tax rate (excl. CPP/EI)
- ~29.6%
- CPP + EI contributions
- ~$5,507
- Per month, after tax
- ~$9,767
Where does $174,209 rank on the Sunshine List? →
Estimate only: 2025 federal and Ontario rates, basic personal amounts, Canada employment amount and CPP/EI credits; single, employment income only, salary treated as full-year income. Ignores pension contributions (OMERS, HOOPP, OTPP, OPTrust and similar plans lower actual take-home), union dues, RRSPs and benefits.
Median by Year
2005–2025
Median salary paid among disclosed records. 2023 is absent: job titles were not disclosed that year. Years with fewer than five people are omitted.
Where They Work
2025 · employers with 5+
| Employer | People | Median | Top | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| York University | 474 | $180,051 | $334,651 | Pay here → |
| University of Waterloo | 413 | $188,642 | $382,260 | Pay here → |
| University of Western Ontario | 397 | $163,296 | $334,433 | Pay here → |
| Toronto Metropolitan University | 338 | $185,094 | $376,535 | Pay here → |
| University of Ottawa | 331 | $183,037 | $261,483 | Pay here → |
| Mcmaster University | 302 | $171,656 | $291,127 | Pay here → |
| Queen's University | 278 | $179,330 | $305,366 | Pay here → |
| University of Guelph | 254 | $184,445 | $282,171 | Pay here → |
| Brock University | 185 | $172,769 | $257,474 | Pay here → |
| University of Windsor | 157 | $160,938 | $222,873 | Pay here → |
| Lakehead University | 142 | $152,025 | $190,988 | Pay here → |
| Trent University | 102 | $168,708 | $237,215 | Pay here → |
| Ontario Tech University | 98 | $166,810 | $233,617 | Pay here → |
| Laurentian University of Sudbury | 77 | $146,989 | $201,309 | Pay here → |
| Ontario College of Art and Design University | 56 | $137,462 | $164,037 | Pay here → |
Highest Paid
2025
| # | Name | Employer | Title as filed | Salary | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Blake Phillips | University Of Waterloo | Associate Professor | $382,260 | $383,790 |
| 2 | Atefeh Mashatan | Toronto Metropolitan University | Associate Professor | $376,535 | $379,971 |
| 3 | Maja Djikic | University Of Toronto | Associate Professor | $337,604 | $337,729 |
| 4 | Willow A Sheremata | York University | Associate Professor | $334,651 | $335,185 |
| 5 | Stephen Sapp | University Of Western Ontario | Associate Professor | $334,433 | $334,533 |
| 6 | Charles A. Presslee | University Of Waterloo | Associate Professor | $327,153 | $327,746 |
| 7 | Krista Fiolleau | University Of Waterloo | Associate Professor | $326,571 | $327,979 |
| 8 | Adam Fremeth | University Of Western Ontario | Associate Professor | $320,294 | $320,394 |
| 9 | Clare Chua-Chow | Toronto Metropolitan University | Associate Professor | $319,359 | $320,777 |
| 10 | Viswanath (Shanker) Trivedi | York University | Associate Professor | $318,066 | $319,023 |
By Year
Related Positions
About these figures
Source: Ontario’s Public Sector Salary Disclosure (the “Sunshine List”), which names every public-sector employee paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year. Figures are disclosed salaries, not market compensation: anyone in this position earning under $100,000 does not appear, so medians here sit above the true median for the job.
Medians and percentiles use salary paid (benefits excluded), computed over records whose filed job title was normalized into this position. Titles are as each employer filed them; spellings, word order and bilingual forms are merged. Employers and years with fewer than five people show counts only. 2023: job titles were not disclosed, so that year has no position data. Titles before 2005 were abbreviated at source; the chart starts at 2005.
Data through 2025, the most recent Sunshine List disclosed.