Senior Research Associate Salary in Ontario (2025)
675 disclosed records, 2005–2025 · mostly Universities (84%)
At a Glance
2025
Disclosed
137
2025 Sunshine List
Median Salary
$116,742
-4.5% vs provincial median
Typical Range
$107,270–$133,167
25th–75th percentile
Top Salary
$219,157
Who is the highest-paid Senior Research Associate in Ontario?
The highest-paid Senior Research Associate on the 2025 Sunshine List was Simon Grocott at University Of Toronto, with a salary of $219,157; the median among the 137 listed under this title was $116,742.
Take-Home Pay
(After Tax) · 2025 estimate
A Senior Research Associate paid the 2025 median of $116,742 would take home roughly $85,048 after income tax, CPP and EI — about $7,087 a month, an effective rate of about 22.4%. 137 people were listed under this title in 2025. The middle half of Senior Research Associate salaries ran from $107,270 to $133,167. Members of OMERS, OTPP, HOOPP or OPTrust typically take home another 7–10% less after pension contributions, which this estimate leaves out.
- Estimated net pay
- ~$85,048
- Effective income-tax rate (excl. CPP/EI)
- ~22.4%
- CPP + EI contributions
- ~$5,507
- Per month, after tax
- ~$7,087
Where does $116,742 rank on the Sunshine List? →
Estimate only: 2025 federal and Ontario rates, basic personal amounts, Canada employment amount and CPP/EI credits; single, employment income only, salary treated as full-year income. Ignores pension contributions (OMERS, HOOPP, OTPP, OPTrust and similar plans lower actual take-home), union dues, RRSPs and benefits.
Median by Year
2005–2025
Median salary paid among disclosed records. 2023 is absent: job titles were not disclosed that year. Years with fewer than five people are omitted.
Where They Work
2025 · employers with 5+
| Employer | People | Median | Top | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Toronto | 84 | $119,986 | $219,157 | Pay here → |
| Hospital for Sick Children | 25 | $115,707 | $133,403 | Pay here → |
| University of Ottawa | 13 | $119,341 | $133,615 | Pay here → |
Highest Paid
2025
| # | Name | Employer | Title as filed | Salary | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Simon Grocott | University Of Toronto | Senior Research Associate | $219,157 | $219,283 |
| 2 | Mihail Barbu | University Of Toronto | Senior Research Associate | $194,175 | $194,301 |
| 3 | Waclaw Dajnowiec | Toronto Metropolitan University | Senior Research Associate | $191,222 | $191,662 |
| 4 | Alex Beattie | University Of Toronto | Senior Research Associate | $185,729 | $185,855 |
| 5 | Freddy Pranajaya | University Of Toronto | Senior Research Associate | $182,002 | $182,233 |
| 6 | James Aramini | University Of Toronto | Senior Research Associate | $181,744 | $181,869 |
| 7 | Nicolaas Handojo | University Of Toronto | Senior Research Associate | $180,598 | $181,348 |
| 8 | Yiliang (Clement) Ma | University Of Toronto | Senior Research Associate | $178,533 | $178,659 |
| 9 | Stephen Onyskay | Toronto Metropolitan University | Senior Research Associate | $174,461 | $174,901 |
| 10 | Michael Anth Costanzo | University Of Toronto | Senior Research Associate | $173,504 | $173,629 |
By Year
Related Positions
About these figures
Source: Ontario’s Public Sector Salary Disclosure (the “Sunshine List”), which names every public-sector employee paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year. Figures are disclosed salaries, not market compensation: anyone in this position earning under $100,000 does not appear, so medians here sit above the true median for the job.
Medians and percentiles use salary paid (benefits excluded), computed over records whose filed job title was normalized into this position. Titles are as each employer filed them; spellings, word order and bilingual forms are merged. Employers and years with fewer than five people show counts only. 2023: job titles were not disclosed, so that year has no position data.
Data through 2025, the most recent Sunshine List disclosed.