Professor of Finance Salary in Ontario (2025)
433 disclosed records, 1999–2025 · mostly Universities (99%)
Last filed under this title in 2025. Fewer than 20 records in the latest Sunshine List, so this page is kept for history.
At a Glance
2025
Disclosed
13
2025 Sunshine List
Median Salary
$505,022
+313.1% vs provincial median
Typical Range
$324,216–$541,454
25th–75th percentile
Top Salary
$601,972
Who is the highest-paid Professor of Finance in Ontario?
The highest-paid Professor of Finance on the 2025 Sunshine List was David Goldreich at University Of Toronto, with a salary of $601,972; the median among the 13 listed under this title was $505,022.
Take-Home Pay
(After Tax) · 2025 estimate
A Professor of Finance paid the 2025 median of $505,022 would take home roughly $274,642 after income tax, CPP and EI — about $22,887 a month, an effective rate of about 44.5%. The middle half of Professor of Finance salaries ran from $324,216 to $541,454. The 2025 list carries 13 people filed as Professor of Finance. Members of OMERS, OTPP, HOOPP or OPTrust typically take home another 7–10% less after pension contributions, which this estimate leaves out.
- Estimated net pay
- ~$274,642
- Effective income-tax rate (excl. CPP/EI)
- ~44.5%
- CPP + EI contributions
- ~$5,507
- Per month, after tax
- ~$22,887
Where does $505,022 rank on the Sunshine List? →
Estimate only: 2025 federal and Ontario rates, basic personal amounts, Canada employment amount and CPP/EI credits; single, employment income only, salary treated as full-year income. Ignores pension contributions (OMERS, HOOPP, OTPP, OPTrust and similar plans lower actual take-home), union dues, RRSPs and benefits.
Median by Year
2005–2025
Median salary paid among disclosed records. 2023 is absent: job titles were not disclosed that year. Years with fewer than five people are omitted.
Where They Work
2025 · employers with 5+
| Employer | People | Median | Top | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Toronto | 12 | $514,390 | $601,972 | Pay here → |
Highest Paid
2025
| # | Name | Employer | Title as filed | Salary | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | David GoldreichProfessor of Finance | University Of Toronto | Professor of Finance | $601,972 | $602,270 |
| 2 | Wendy RotenbergProfessor of Finance | University Of Toronto | Professor of Finance | $565,190 | $565,316 |
| 3 | Craig Andrew DoidgeProfessor of Finance | University Of Toronto | Professor of Finance | $561,168 | $561,419 |
| 4 | Liyan YangProfessor of Finance | University Of Toronto | Professor of Finance | $541,454 | $544,080 |
| 5 | Alexander DyckProfessor of Finance | University Of Toronto | Professor of Finance | $532,081 | $532,333 |
| 6 | Susan ChristoffersenProfessor of Finance | University Of Toronto | Professor of Finance | $523,759 | $526,210 |
| 7 | Thomas MccurdyProfessor of Finance | University Of Toronto | Professor of Finance | $505,022 | $505,022 |
| 8 | Bing HanProfessor of Finance | University Of Toronto | Professor of Finance | $483,490 | $486,615 |
| 9 | Alexandre CorhayProfessor of Finance | University Of Toronto | Professor of Finance | $468,303 | $473,441 |
| 10 | Laurence BoothProfessor of Finance | University Of Toronto | Professor of Finance | $324,216 | $324,216 |
By Year
Related Positions
About these figures
Source: Ontario’s Public Sector Salary Disclosure (the “Sunshine List”), which names every public-sector employee paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year. Figures are disclosed salaries, not market compensation: anyone in this position earning under $100,000 does not appear, so medians here sit above the true median for the job.
Medians and percentiles use salary paid (benefits excluded), computed over records whose filed job title was normalized into this position. Titles are as each employer filed them; spellings, word order and bilingual forms are merged. Employers and years with fewer than five people show counts only. 2023: job titles were not disclosed, so that year has no position data. Titles before 2005 were abbreviated at source; the chart starts at 2005.
Data through 2025, the most recent Sunshine List disclosed.