Secondary Special Education Resource Teacher Salary in Ontario (2025)
73 disclosed records, 2019–2025 · mostly School Boards (100%)
At a Glance
2025
Disclosed
22
2025 Sunshine List
Median Salary
$118,054
-3.4% vs provincial median
Typical Range
$117,496–$118,054
25th–75th percentile
Top Salary
$128,666
Who is the highest-paid Secondary Special Education Resource Teacher in Ontario?
The highest-paid Secondary Special Education Resource Teacher on the 2025 Sunshine List was Amy Casimir at Durham District School Board, with a salary of $128,666; the median among the 22 listed under this title was $118,054.
Take-Home Pay
(After Tax) · 2025 estimate
Federal and Ontario income tax on the 2025 Secondary Special Education Resource Teacher median of $118,054 comes to about 22.7%, leaving roughly $85,791 a year — about $7,149 a month. 22 people were listed under this title in 2025. Half of those listed earned between $117,496 and $118,054. Most School Boards employees belong to OTPP for teachers or OMERS, so actual take-home is likely another 7–10% lower after pension contributions.
- Estimated net pay
- ~$85,791
- Effective income-tax rate (excl. CPP/EI)
- ~22.7%
- CPP + EI contributions
- ~$5,507
- Per month, after tax
- ~$7,149
Where does $118,054 rank on the Sunshine List? →
Estimate only: 2025 federal and Ontario rates, basic personal amounts, Canada employment amount and CPP/EI credits; single, employment income only, salary treated as full-year income. Ignores pension contributions (OMERS, HOOPP, OTPP, OPTrust and similar plans lower actual take-home), union dues, RRSPs and benefits.
Median by Year
2005–2025
Median salary paid among disclosed records. 2023 is absent: job titles were not disclosed that year. Years with fewer than five people are omitted.
Where They Work
2025 · employers with 5+
| Employer | People | Median | Top | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Durham District School Board | 22 | $118,054 | $128,666 | Pay here → |
Highest Paid
2025
| # | Name | Employer | Title as filed | Salary | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Amy Casimir | Durham District School Board | Secondary Special Education Resource Teacher | $128,666 | $128,666 |
| 2 | Steven Hunter | Durham District School Board | Secondary Special Education Resource Teacher | $123,949 | $123,949 |
| 3 | Andrea Countryman | Durham District School Board | Secondary Special Education Resource Teacher | $119,496 | $119,496 |
| 4 | Nicole Whaley | Durham District School Board | Secondary Special Education Resource Teacher | $118,203 | $118,203 |
| 5 | Amanda Morra | Durham District School Board | Secondary Special Education Resource Teacher | $118,113 | $118,113 |
| 6 | Ian Fitzsimmons | Durham District School Board | Secondary Special Education Resource Teacher | $118,054 | $118,054 |
| 7 | Nina Bedi | Durham District School Board | Secondary Special Education Resource Teacher | $118,054 | $118,054 |
| 8 | Danielle Frech | Durham District School Board | Secondary Special Education Resource Teacher | $118,054 | $118,054 |
| 9 | Jill Lang | Durham District School Board | Secondary Special Education Resource Teacher | $118,054 | $118,054 |
| 10 | Sara Leo | Durham District School Board | Secondary Special Education Resource Teacher | $118,054 | $118,054 |
By Year
Related Positions
About these figures
Source: Ontario’s Public Sector Salary Disclosure (the “Sunshine List”), which names every public-sector employee paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year. Figures are disclosed salaries, not market compensation: anyone in this position earning under $100,000 does not appear, so medians here sit above the true median for the job.
Medians and percentiles use salary paid (benefits excluded), computed over records whose filed job title was normalized into this position. Titles are as each employer filed them; spellings, word order and bilingual forms are merged. Employers and years with fewer than five people show counts only. 2023: job titles were not disclosed, so that year has no position data.
Data through 2025, the most recent Sunshine List disclosed.