Principal (level not specified) Salary in Ontario (2025)
34,635 disclosed records, 1998–2025 · mostly School Boards (99%)
Records grouped under “Principal (level not specified)” after title normalisation — the bare title, without a level or specialty. For level-specific figures see Vice-Principal (level not specified).
At a Glance
2025
Disclosed
2,012
2025 Sunshine List
Median Salary
$165,678
+35.5% vs provincial median
Typical Range
$153,262–$172,964
25th–75th percentile
Top Salary
$209,322
Who was the highest-paid employee under the title "Principal (level not specified)" in Ontario in 2025?
The highest-paid record grouped under the title "Principal (level not specified)" on the 2025 Sunshine List was Renee Shave at Thames Valley District School Board, with a salary of $209,322; the median among the 2,012 listed under this title was $165,678.
Take-Home Pay
(After Tax) · 2025 estimate
At the 2025 median salary of $165,678, a Principal (level not specified) keeps roughly $112,514 after income tax, CPP and EI (about 32.1% all-in), or about $9,376 a month. The middle half of Principal (level not specified) salaries ran from $153,262 to $172,964. The 2025 list carries 2,012 people grouped under the title Principal (level not specified). After pension contributions (probably OTPP for teachers or OMERS in this sector), take-home is usually a further 7–10% lower.
- Estimated net pay
- ~$112,514
- Effective income-tax rate (excl. CPP/EI)
- ~28.8%
- CPP + EI contributions
- ~$5,507
- All-in deduction rate (incl. CPP/EI)
- ~32.1%
- Per month, after tax
- ~$9,376
Where does $165,678 rank on the Sunshine List? →
Estimate only: 2025 federal and Ontario rates, basic personal amounts, Canada employment amount and CPP/EI credits; single, employment income only, salary treated as full-year income. Ignores pension contributions (OMERS, HOOPP, OTPP, OPTrust and similar plans lower actual take-home), union dues, RRSPs and benefits.
Median by Year
2005–2025
Where They Work
2025 · employers with 5+
| Employer | Median | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Peel District School Board | $176,461 | Pay here → |
| Thames Valley District School Board | $164,687 | Pay here → |
| Ottawa-Carleton District School Board | $167,297 | Pay here → |
| Dufferin-Peel Catholic District School Board | $172,742 | Pay here → |
| Ottawa Catholic School Board | $174,871 | Pay here → |
| Algoma District School Board | $162,842 | Pay here → |
| Grand Erie District School Board | $168,279 | Pay here → |
| Lambton Kent District School Board | $168,452 | Pay here → |
| Waterloo Catholic District School Board | $167,181 | Pay here → |
| Conseil Scolaire Viamonde | $145,428 | Pay here → |
| Hamilton Wentworth Catholic District School Board | $168,349 | Pay here → |
| Conseil Scolaire Catholique MonAvenir | $146,789 | Pay here → |
| Simcoe Muskoka Catholic District School Board | $167,586 | Pay here → |
| Hastings and Prince Edward District School Board | $165,260 | Pay here → |
| Catholic District School Board of Eastern Ontario | $162,930 | Pay here → |
Highest Paid
2025
| # | Name | Salary | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Renee ShavePrincipal | $209,322 | $210,522 |
| 2 | Laurie KavanaghPrincipal | $201,145 | $201,145 |
| 3 | Jennifer PrichettPrincipal | $198,911 | $199,014 |
| 4 | Sara Tielli MitchellPrincipal | $198,812 | $200,837 |
| 5 | Margarita ZiroldoPrincipal | $197,611 | $197,713 |
| 6 | Linda RodenburgPrincipal | $195,600 | $196,818 |
| 7 | Jane ConrodPrincipal | $195,405 | $195,405 |
| 8 | Dahlia Jacquiline BattickPrincipal | $195,000 | $197,025 |
| 9 | Kristina ZammitPrincipal | $192,916 | $194,941 |
| 10 | Emily PopePrincipal | $192,639 | $192,639 |
By Year
Related Positions
About these figures
Source: Ontario’s Public Sector Salary Disclosure (the “Sunshine List”), which names every public-sector employee paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year. Figures are disclosed salaries, not market compensation: anyone in this position earning under $100,000 does not appear, so medians here sit above the true median for the job.
Medians and percentiles use salary paid (benefits excluded), computed over records whose filed job title was normalized into this position. Titles are as each employer filed them; spellings, word order and bilingual forms are merged. Employers and years with fewer than five people show counts only. Titles before 2005 were abbreviated at source; the chart starts at 2005.
Data through 2025, the most recent Sunshine List disclosed.