Senior Research Scientist Salary in Ontario (2025)
564 disclosed records, 2002–2025 · mostly Hospitals & Boards of Public Health (69%)
At a Glance
2025
Disclosed
44
2025 Sunshine List
Median Salary
$201,768
+65.0% vs provincial median
Typical Range
$123,554–$242,887
25th–75th percentile
Top Salary
$359,936
Who is the highest-paid Senior Research Scientist in Ontario?
The highest-paid Senior Research Scientist on the 2025 Sunshine List was Dean Fergusson at Ottawa Hospital Research Institute, with a salary of $359,936; the median among the 44 listed under this title was $201,768.
Take-Home Pay
(After Tax) · 2025 estimate
At the 2025 median salary of $201,768, a Senior Research Scientist keeps roughly $131,469 after income tax, CPP and EI (about 32.1% effective), or about $10,956 a month. 44 people were listed under this title in 2025. Across every sector the 2025 median was $122,262, so this position sits about 65% above it. Most Hospitals & Boards of Public Health employees belong to HOOPP, so actual take-home is likely another 7–10% lower after pension contributions.
- Estimated net pay
- ~$131,469
- Effective income-tax rate (excl. CPP/EI)
- ~32.1%
- CPP + EI contributions
- ~$5,507
- Per month, after tax
- ~$10,956
Where does $201,768 rank on the Sunshine List? →
Estimate only: 2025 federal and Ontario rates, basic personal amounts, Canada employment amount and CPP/EI credits; single, employment income only, salary treated as full-year income. Ignores pension contributions (OMERS, HOOPP, OTPP, OPTrust and similar plans lower actual take-home), union dues, RRSPs and benefits.
Median by Year
2005–2025
Median salary paid among disclosed records. 2023 is absent: job titles were not disclosed that year. Years with fewer than five people are omitted.
Where They Work
2025 · employers with 5+
| Employer | People | Median | Top | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ottawa Hospital Research Institute | 30 | $232,970 | $359,936 | Pay here → |
| Ontario Institute for Cancer Research | 9 | $122,923 | $133,586 | Pay here → |
Highest Paid
2025
| # | Name | Employer | Title as filed | Salary | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Dean Fergusson | Ottawa Hospital Research Institute | Senior Research Scientist/Scientifique principal | $359,936 | $360,943 |
| 2 | Rashmi Kothary | Ottawa Hospital Research Institute | Senior Research Scientist/Scientifique principal | $358,744 | $358,833 |
| 3 | Ian Lorimer | Ottawa Hospital Research Institute | Senior Research Scientist/Scientifique principal | $302,514 | $302,533 |
| 4 | David Picketts | Ottawa Hospital Research Institute | Senior Research Scientist/Scientifique principal | $297,406 | $298,411 |
| 5 | Michael Rudnicki | Ottawa Hospital Research Institute | Senior Research Scientist/Scientifique principal | $297,227 | $297,246 |
| 6 | John Bell | Ottawa Hospital Research Institute | Senior Research Scientist/Scientifique principal | $284,939 | $284,958 |
| 7 | Lynn Megeney | Ottawa Hospital Research Institute | Senior Research Scientist/Scientifique principal | $259,714 | $260,657 |
| 8 | David Moher | Ottawa Hospital Research Institute | Senior Research Scientist/Scientifique principal | $259,714 | $259,733 |
| 9 | Shi Wen | Ottawa Hospital Research Institute | Senior Research Scientist/Scientifique principal | $258,787 | $258,806 |
| 10 | William Stanford | Ottawa Hospital Research Institute | Senior Research Scientist/Scientifique principal | $258,320 | $259,332 |
By Year
Related Positions
- Registered Nurse31,254
- Manager2,664
- Nurse Practitioner1,832
- Social Worker1,812
- Pharmacist1,371
- Physiotherapist1,351
- Registered Practical Nurse1,317
- Occupational Therapist1,181
About these figures
Source: Ontario’s Public Sector Salary Disclosure (the “Sunshine List”), which names every public-sector employee paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year. Figures are disclosed salaries, not market compensation: anyone in this position earning under $100,000 does not appear, so medians here sit above the true median for the job.
Medians and percentiles use salary paid (benefits excluded), computed over records whose filed job title was normalized into this position. Titles are as each employer filed them; spellings, word order and bilingual forms are merged. Employers and years with fewer than five people show counts only. 2023: job titles were not disclosed, so that year has no position data. Titles before 2005 were abbreviated at source; the chart starts at 2005.
Data through 2025, the most recent Sunshine List disclosed.