Social Worker Salary in Ontario (2025)
4,391 disclosed records, 2008–2025 · mostly Hospitals & Boards of Public Health (65%)
At a Glance
2025
Disclosed
1,645
2025 Sunshine List
Median Salary
$112,911
-7.6% vs provincial median
Typical Range
$107,491–$116,020
25th–75th percentile
Top Salary
$157,599
Who is the highest-paid Social Worker in Ontario?
The highest-paid Social Worker on the 2025 Sunshine List was Robin Thomas at Southlake Health, with a salary of $157,599; the median among the 1,645 listed under this title was $112,911.
Take-Home Pay
(After Tax) · 2025 estimate
A Social Worker paid the 2025 median of $112,911 would take home roughly $82,720 after federal and Ontario income tax — about $6,893 a month, an effective rate of about 21.9%. Across every sector the 2025 median was $122,262, so this position sits about 8% below it. 1,645 people were listed under this title in 2025. Pension contributions — likely HOOPP in the Hospitals & Boards of Public Health sector — would typically trim another 7–10% off that figure.
- Estimated net pay
- ~$82,720
- Effective income-tax rate (excl. CPP/EI)
- ~21.9%
- CPP + EI contributions
- ~$5,507
- Per month, after tax
- ~$6,893
Where does $112,911 rank on the Sunshine List? →
Estimate only: 2025 federal and Ontario rates, basic personal amounts, Canada employment amount and CPP/EI credits; single, employment income only, salary treated as full-year income. Ignores pension contributions (OMERS, HOOPP, OTPP, OPTrust and similar plans lower actual take-home), union dues, RRSPs and benefits.
Median by Year
2005–2025
Median salary paid among disclosed records. 2023 is absent: job titles were not disclosed that year. Years with fewer than five people are omitted.
Where They Work
2025 · employers with 5+
| Employer | People | Median | Top |
|---|---|---|---|
| Toronto District School Board | 130 | $109,513 | $134,908 |
| Trillium Health Partners | 109 | $115,371 | $129,965 |
| London Health Sciences Centre | 101 | $116,936 | $136,643 |
| Hamilton Health Sciences | 81 | $113,169 | $128,775 |
| University Health Network | 80 | $118,946 | $134,224 |
| St. Joseph's Healthcare Hamilton | 62 | $107,406 | $121,641 |
| St. Joseph's Health Care London | 56 | $116,306 | $127,404 |
| Peel District School Board | 52 | $113,661 | $142,693 |
| Scarborough Health Network | 51 | $112,925 | $121,569 |
| Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre | 48 | $116,742 | $119,403 |
| Ontario Shores Centre for Mental Health Sciences | 46 | $115,520 | $134,695 |
| Lakeridge Health | 40 | $113,402 | $119,734 |
| Hospital for Sick Children | 38 | $115,254 | $120,905 |
| William Osler Health System | 38 | $112,964 | $114,698 |
| Humber River Health | 36 | $116,179 | $119,446 |
Highest Paid
2025
| # | Name | Employer | Title as filed | Salary | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Robin Thomas | Southlake Health | Social Worker | $157,599 | $158,022 |
| 2 | Justine Ogle | Ottawa Catholic School Board | Social Worker | $151,112 | $151,215 |
| 3 | Siu-Lun Leung | Waterloo Regional Health Network | Social Worker | $150,732 | $151,135 |
| 4 | Paul Rivers | Sinai Health System | Social Worker | $147,279 | $147,279 |
| 5 | Meagan Lance | Solicitor General | Social Worker | $143,947 | $144,144 |
| 6 | Ilana Greene | Regional Municipality Of Halton | Social Worker | $143,193 | $143,691 |
| 7 | Emily Stein | Regional Municipality Of Halton | Social Worker | $142,693 | $143,191 |
| 8 | Marcia Gayle | Peel District School Board | Social Worker | $142,693 | $144,718 |
| 9 | Arria Compton | London Health Sciences Centre | Social Worker | $136,643 | $136,908 |
| 10 | Michelle Jorge | Halton District School Board | Social Worker | $135,495 | $135,495 |
By Year
Related Positions
- Registered Nurse31,254
- Manager2,664
- Nurse Practitioner1,832
- Pharmacist1,371
- Physiotherapist1,351
- Registered Practical Nurse1,317
- Occupational Therapist1,181
- Director1,116
About these figures
Source: Ontario’s Public Sector Salary Disclosure (the “Sunshine List”), which names every public-sector employee paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year. Figures are disclosed salaries, not market compensation: anyone in this position earning under $100,000 does not appear, so medians here sit above the true median for the job.
Medians and percentiles use salary paid (benefits excluded), computed over records whose filed job title was normalized into this position. Titles are as each employer filed them; spellings, word order and bilingual forms are merged. Employers and years with fewer than five people show counts only. 2023: job titles were not disclosed, so that year has no position data.
Data through 2025, the most recent Sunshine List disclosed.