Senior Scientist Section Head Salary in Ontario (2022)
134 disclosed records, 2008–2022 · mostly Hospitals & Boards of Public Health (100%)
Last filed under this title in 2022. Fewer than 20 records in the latest Sunshine List, so this page is kept for history.
At a Glance
2022
Disclosed
7
2022 Sunshine List
Median Salary
$208,786
+85.7% vs provincial median
Typical Range
$159,722–$310,204
25th–75th percentile
Top Salary
$322,196
Who is the highest-paid Senior Scientist Section Head in Ontario?
The highest-paid Senior Scientist Section Head on the 2022 Sunshine List was Rachel Tyndale at Centre For Addiction And Mental Health, with a salary of $322,196; the median among the 7 listed under this title was $208,786.
Take-Home Pay
(After Tax) · 2022 estimate
Federal and Ontario income tax on the 2022 Senior Scientist Section Head median of $208,786 comes to about 34.7%, leaving roughly $131,887 a year — about $10,991 a month. 7 people were listed under this title in 2022. Half of those listed earned between $159,722 and $310,204. Pension contributions — likely HOOPP in the Hospitals & Boards of Public Health sector — would typically trim another 7–10% off that figure.
- Estimated net pay
- ~$131,887
- Effective income-tax rate (excl. CPP/EI)
- ~34.7%
- CPP + EI contributions
- ~$4,453
- Per month, after tax
- ~$10,991
Where does $208,786 rank on the Sunshine List? →
Estimate only: 2022 federal and Ontario rates, basic personal amounts, Canada employment amount and CPP/EI credits; single, employment income only, salary treated as full-year income. Ignores pension contributions (OMERS, HOOPP, OTPP, OPTrust and similar plans lower actual take-home), union dues, RRSPs and benefits.
Median by Year
2005–2022
Median salary paid among disclosed records. 2023 is absent: job titles were not disclosed that year. Years with fewer than five people are omitted.
Where They Work
2022 · employers with 5+
| Employer | People | Median | Top | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Centre for Addiction and Mental Health | 7 | $208,786 | $322,196 | Pay here → |
Highest Paid
2022
| # | Name | Employer | Title as filed | Salary | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Rachel Tyndale | Centre For Addiction And Mental Health | Senior Scientist, Section Head / Scientifique principale, chef de section | $322,196 | $323,292 |
| 2 | Fang Liu | Centre For Addiction And Mental Health | Senior Scientist, Section Head / Scientifique principale, chef de section | $310,204 | $311,626 |
| 3 | Arturas Petronis | Centre For Addiction And Mental Health | Senior Scientist, Section Head / Scientifique principale, chef de section | $256,598 | $257,420 |
| 4 | Samantha Wells | Centre For Addiction And Mental Health | Senior Scientist, Section Head / Scientifique principale, chef de section | $208,786 | $209,705 |
| 5 | Dzung Anh Le | Centre For Addiction And Mental Health | Senior Scientist, Section Head / Scientifique principale, chef de section | $159,722 | $159,826 |
| 6 | Paul Fletcher | Centre For Addiction And Mental Health | Senior Scientist, Section Head / Scientifique principale, chef de section | $159,722 | $160,502 |
| 7 | Stephen Kish | Centre For Addiction And Mental Health | Senior Scientist, Section Head / Scientifique principale, chef de section | $159,499 | $159,499 |
By Year
Related Positions
- Registered Nurse31,254
- Manager2,664
- Nurse Practitioner1,832
- Social Worker1,812
- Pharmacist1,371
- Physiotherapist1,351
- Registered Practical Nurse1,317
- Occupational Therapist1,181
About these figures
Source: Ontario’s Public Sector Salary Disclosure (the “Sunshine List”), which names every public-sector employee paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year. Figures are disclosed salaries, not market compensation: anyone in this position earning under $100,000 does not appear, so medians here sit above the true median for the job.
Medians and percentiles use salary paid (benefits excluded), computed over records whose filed job title was normalized into this position. Titles are as each employer filed them; spellings, word order and bilingual forms are merged. Employers and years with fewer than five people show counts only. 2023: job titles were not disclosed, so that year has no position data.
Data through 2022 — no records in the 2025 Sunshine List, the most recent disclosed.