Vice President Research Salary in Ontario (2025)
176 disclosed records, 1996–2025 · mostly Universities (51%)
Last filed under this title in 2025. Fewer than 20 records in the latest Sunshine List, so this page is kept for history.
At a Glance
2025
Disclosed
5
2025 Sunshine List
Median Salary
$277,829
+127.2% vs provincial median
Typical Range
$271,625–$288,617
25th–75th percentile
Top Salary
$446,490
Who is the highest-paid Vice President Research in Ontario?
The highest-paid Vice President Research on the 2025 Sunshine List was Kullervo H Hynynen at Sunnybrook Research Institute, with a salary of $446,490; the median among the 5 listed under this title was $277,829.
Take-Home Pay
(After Tax) · 2025 estimate
Federal and Ontario income tax on the 2025 Vice President Research median of $277,829 comes to about 37.2%, leaving roughly $169,065 a year — about $14,089 a month. Half of those listed earned between $271,625 and $288,617. That is about 127% above the 2025 median across the whole list, $122,262. 5 people were listed under this title in 2025. This estimate leaves out pension contributions; members of OMERS, OTPP, HOOPP or OPTrust typically take home another 7–10% less.
- Estimated net pay
- ~$169,065
- Effective income-tax rate (excl. CPP/EI)
- ~37.2%
- CPP + EI contributions
- ~$5,507
- Per month, after tax
- ~$14,089
Where does $277,829 rank on the Sunshine List? →
Estimate only: 2025 federal and Ontario rates, basic personal amounts, Canada employment amount and CPP/EI credits; single, employment income only, salary treated as full-year income. Ignores pension contributions (OMERS, HOOPP, OTPP, OPTrust and similar plans lower actual take-home), union dues, RRSPs and benefits.
Median by Year
2005–2025
Median salary paid among disclosed records. 2023 is absent: job titles were not disclosed that year. Years with fewer than five people are omitted.
Highest Paid
2025
| # | Name | Employer | Title as filed | Salary | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Kullervo H Hynynen | Sunnybrook Research Institute | Vice President Research | $446,490 | $472,290 |
| 2 | Jonathan Newman | Wilfrid Laurier University | Vice President, Research | $288,617 | $289,528 |
| 3 | Kevin Kuo | Scarborough Health Network | Vice President, Research | $277,829 | $278,445 |
| 4 | Michelle Chretien | Conestoga College Institute Of Technology and Advanced Learning | Vice President, Research | $271,625 | $272,089 |
| 5 | Timothy Kenyon | Brock University | Vice-President, Research | $268,973 | $269,510 |
By Year
Related Positions
About these figures
Source: Ontario’s Public Sector Salary Disclosure (the “Sunshine List”), which names every public-sector employee paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year. Figures are disclosed salaries, not market compensation: anyone in this position earning under $100,000 does not appear, so medians here sit above the true median for the job.
Medians and percentiles use salary paid (benefits excluded), computed over records whose filed job title was normalized into this position. Titles are as each employer filed them; spellings, word order and bilingual forms are merged. Employers and years with fewer than five people show counts only. 2023: job titles were not disclosed, so that year has no position data. Titles before 2005 were abbreviated at source; the chart starts at 2005.
Data through 2025, the most recent Sunshine List disclosed.