Assistant Director Salary in Ontario (2025)
494 disclosed records, 1997–2025 · mostly Universities (49%)
At a Glance
2025
Disclosed
30
2025 Sunshine List
Median Salary
$144,147
+17.9% vs provincial median
Typical Range
$119,850–$157,493
25th–75th percentile
Top Salary
$173,728
Take-Home Pay
(After Tax) · 2025 estimate
A Assistant Director paid the 2025 median of $144,147 would take home roughly $100,557 after federal and Ontario income tax — about $8,380 a month, an effective rate of about 26.4%. The middle half of Assistant Director salaries ran from $119,850 to $157,493. 30 people were listed under this title in 2025. This estimate leaves out pension contributions; members of OMERS, OTPP, HOOPP or OPTrust typically take home another 7–10% less.
- Estimated net pay
- ~$100,557
- Effective income-tax rate (excl. CPP/EI)
- ~26.4%
- CPP + EI contributions
- ~$5,507
- Per month, after tax
- ~$8,380
Estimate only: 2025 federal and Ontario rates, basic personal amounts, Canada employment amount and CPP/EI credits; single, employment income only, salary treated as full-year income. Ignores pension contributions (OMERS, HOOPP, OTPP, OPTrust and similar plans lower actual take-home), union dues, RRSPs and benefits.
Median by Year
2005–2025
Median salary paid among disclosed records. 2023 is absent: job titles were not disclosed that year. Years with fewer than five people are omitted.
Where They Work
2025 · employers with 5+
| Employer | People | Median | Top |
|---|---|---|---|
| Toronto Metropolitan University | 5 | $119,850 | $167,374 |
Highest Paid
2025
| # | Name | Employer | Title as filed | Salary | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Mitch Baldwin | Natural Resources | Assistant Director | $173,728 | $173,923 |
| 2 | Hilary Smith | Seniors and Accessibility | Assistant Director | $169,342 | $169,525 |
| 3 | Ciro Bustillo Lecompte | Toronto Metropolitan University | Assistant Director | $167,374 | $167,699 |
| 4 | Ashleigh Cocuzzi | Public and Business Service Delivery and Procurement | Assistant Director | $161,349 | $161,507 |
| 5 | Erik Wiersma | Environment, Conservation and Parks | Assistant Director | $158,604 | $158,792 |
| 6 | Nicole Norton | Children, Community and Social Services | Assistant Director | $158,054 | $158,230 |
| 7 | Kyle Richardson | Treasury Board Secretariat | Assistant Director | $157,584 | $157,743 |
| 8 | Luiza Cornea | Labour, Immigration, Training and Skills Development | Assistant Director | $157,493 | $157,665 |
| 9 | Lica Veronique Vuu | Health | Assistant Director | $157,228 | $157,404 |
| 10 | Jacqueline Braden | Solicitor General | Assistant Director | $152,068 | $152,255 |
By Year
Related Positions
About these figures
Source: Ontario’s Public Sector Salary Disclosure (the “Sunshine List”), which names every public-sector employee paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year. Figures are disclosed salaries, not market compensation: anyone in this position earning under $100,000 does not appear, so medians here sit above the true median for the job.
Medians and percentiles use salary paid (benefits excluded), computed over records whose filed job title was normalized into this position. Titles are as each employer filed them; spellings, word order and bilingual forms are merged. Employers and years with fewer than five people show counts only. 2023: job titles were not disclosed, so that year has no position data. Titles before 2005 were abbreviated at source; the chart starts at 2005.
Data through 2025, the most recent Sunshine List disclosed.