Associate Medical Officer of Health Salary in Ontario (2025)
542 disclosed records, 1996–2025 · mostly Municipalities & Services (84%)
At a Glance
2025
Disclosed
38
2025 Sunshine List
Median Salary
$281,484
+130.2% vs provincial median
Typical Range
$240,954–$316,660
25th–75th percentile
Top Salary
$385,501
Who is the highest-paid Associate Medical Officer of Health in Ontario?
The highest-paid Associate Medical Officer of Health on the 2025 Sunshine List was Adelle-Lisa Chang On at Regional Municipality Of Waterloo, with a salary of $385,501; the median among the 38 listed under this title was $281,484.
Take-Home Pay
(After Tax) · 2025 estimate
Federal and Ontario income tax on the 2025 Associate Medical Officer of Health median of $281,484 comes to about 37.4%, leaving roughly $170,763 a year — about $14,230 a month. Half of those listed earned between $240,954 and $316,660. The 2025 list carries 38 people filed as Associate Medical Officer of Health. Pension contributions — likely OMERS in the Municipalities & Services sector — would typically trim another 7–10% off that figure.
- Estimated net pay
- ~$170,763
- Effective income-tax rate (excl. CPP/EI)
- ~37.4%
- CPP + EI contributions
- ~$5,507
- Per month, after tax
- ~$14,230
Where does $281,484 rank on the Sunshine List? →
Estimate only: 2025 federal and Ontario rates, basic personal amounts, Canada employment amount and CPP/EI credits; single, employment income only, salary treated as full-year income. Ignores pension contributions (OMERS, HOOPP, OTPP, OPTrust and similar plans lower actual take-home), union dues, RRSPs and benefits.
Median by Year
2005–2025
Median salary paid among disclosed records. 2023 is absent: job titles were not disclosed that year. Years with fewer than five people are omitted.
Where They Work
2025 · employers with 5+
| Employer | People | Median | Top | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| City of Toronto | 10 | $280,858 | $343,321 | Pay here → |
| Regional Municipality of Peel | 6 | $268,777 | $309,540 | Pay here → |
| Regional Municipality of York | 5 | $277,375 | $304,059 | Pay here → |
Highest Paid
2025
| # | Name | Employer | Title as filed | Salary | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Adelle-Lisa Chang On | Regional Municipality Of Waterloo | Associate Medical Officer of Health | $385,501 | $386,876 |
| 2 | Allison E Chris | City Of Toronto | Associate Medical Officer Of Health | $343,321 | $344,918 |
| 3 | Dr. John Tuinema | Board Of Health For The District Of Algoma Health Unit | Associate Medical Officer of Health | $331,270 | $332,164 |
| 4 | Howard Shapiro | City Of Toronto | Associate Medical Officer Of Health | $330,908 | $332,521 |
| 5 | Joanna Oda | Regional Municipality Of Halton | Associate Medical Officer Health | $327,029 | $328,330 |
| 6 | Shovita Padhi | City Of Toronto | Associate Medical Officer Of Health | $324,203 | $325,800 |
| 7 | Monir Taha | City Of Ottawa | Associate Medical Officer of Health | $323,776 | $324,685 |
| 8 | Elspeth Mctavish | Regional Municipality Of Durham | Associate Medical Officer of Health | $321,567 | $325,343 |
| 9 | Matthew Tenenbaum | Wellington-Dufferin-Guelph Health Unit | Associate Medical Officer of Health | $317,449 | $318,125 |
| 10 | Michelle Foote | City Of Ottawa | Associate Medical Officer of Health | $316,660 | $317,554 |
By Year
Related Positions
- Constable5,795
- Firefighter5,399
- Police Constable4,778
- Operator3,992
- Primary Care Paramedic2,883
- Sergeant1,600
- Captain1,385
- Plainclothes Police Constable1,286
About these figures
Source: Ontario’s Public Sector Salary Disclosure (the “Sunshine List”), which names every public-sector employee paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year. Figures are disclosed salaries, not market compensation: anyone in this position earning under $100,000 does not appear, so medians here sit above the true median for the job.
Medians and percentiles use salary paid (benefits excluded), computed over records whose filed job title was normalized into this position. Titles are as each employer filed them; spellings, word order and bilingual forms are merged. Employers and years with fewer than five people show counts only. 2023: job titles were not disclosed, so that year has no position data. Titles before 2005 were abbreviated at source; the chart starts at 2005.
Data through 2025, the most recent Sunshine List disclosed.