Skip to content

Classroom Teacher Salary in Ontario (2025)

66 disclosed records, 20092025 · mostly Seconded to Ministries (98%)

At a Glance
2025

Disclosed

36

2025 Sunshine List

Median Salary

$118,055

-3.4% vs provincial median

Typical Range

$115,881–$118,939

25th–75th percentile

Top Salary

$130,725

Who is the highest-paid Classroom Teacher in Ontario?

The highest-paid Classroom Teacher on the 2025 Sunshine List was William Tarbett at Toronto District School Board, with a salary of $130,725; the median among the 36 listed under this title was $118,055.

William Tarbett

Take-Home Pay
(After Tax) · 2025 estimate

At the 2025 median salary of $118,055, a Classroom Teacher keeps roughly $85,791 after income tax, CPP and EI (about 22.7% effective), or about $7,149 a month. The 2025 list carries 36 people filed as Classroom Teacher. Across every sector the 2025 median was $122,262, so this position sits about 3% below it. Most Seconded to Ministries employees belong to PSPP or OPTrust, so actual take-home is likely another 7–10% lower after pension contributions.

Estimated net pay
~$85,791
Effective income-tax rate (excl. CPP/EI)
~22.7%
CPP + EI contributions
~$5,507
Per month, after tax
~$7,149

Where does $118,055 rank on the Sunshine List? →

Estimate only: 2025 federal and Ontario rates, basic personal amounts, Canada employment amount and CPP/EI credits; single, employment income only, salary treated as full-year income. Ignores pension contributions (OMERS, HOOPP, OTPP, OPTrust and similar plans lower actual take-home), union dues, RRSPs and benefits.

Median by Year
20052025

Median salary paid among disclosed records. 2023 is absent: job titles were not disclosed that year. Years with fewer than five people are omitted.

Where They Work
2025 · employers with 5+

Highest Paid
2025

By Year

Related Positions

About these figures

Source: Ontario’s Public Sector Salary Disclosure (the “Sunshine List”), which names every public-sector employee paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year. Figures are disclosed salaries, not market compensation: anyone in this position earning under $100,000 does not appear, so medians here sit above the true median for the job.

Medians and percentiles use salary paid (benefits excluded), computed over records whose filed job title was normalized into this position. Titles are as each employer filed them; spellings, word order and bilingual forms are merged. Employers and years with fewer than five people show counts only. 2023: job titles were not disclosed, so that year has no position data.

Data through 2025, the most recent Sunshine List disclosed.