Communications Operator Salary in Ontario (2025)
1,952 disclosed records, 2006–2025 · mostly Municipalities & Services (67%)
At a Glance
2025
Disclosed
720
2025 Sunshine List
Median Salary
$123,205
+0.8% vs provincial median
Typical Range
$113,960–$134,100
25th–75th percentile
Top Salary
$233,679
Who is the highest-paid Communications Operator in Ontario?
The highest-paid Communications Operator on the 2025 Sunshine List was Brent Mckay at City Of Toronto – Police Service, with a salary of $233,679; the median among the 720 listed under this title was $123,205.
Take-Home Pay
(After Tax) · 2025 estimate
Federal and Ontario income tax on the 2025 Communications Operator median of $123,205 comes to about 23.5%, leaving roughly $88,706 a year — about $7,392 a month. Across every sector the 2025 median was $122,262, so this position sits about 1% above it. The middle half of Communications Operator salaries ran from $113,960 to $134,100. The 2025 list carries 720 people filed as Communications Operator. After pension contributions (probably OMERS in this sector), take-home is usually a further 7–10% lower.
- Estimated net pay
- ~$88,706
- Effective income-tax rate (excl. CPP/EI)
- ~23.5%
- CPP + EI contributions
- ~$5,507
- Per month, after tax
- ~$7,392
Where does $123,205 rank on the Sunshine List? →
Estimate only: 2025 federal and Ontario rates, basic personal amounts, Canada employment amount and CPP/EI credits; single, employment income only, salary treated as full-year income. Ignores pension contributions (OMERS, HOOPP, OTPP, OPTrust and similar plans lower actual take-home), union dues, RRSPs and benefits.
Median by Year
2005–2025
Median salary paid among disclosed records. 2023 is absent: job titles were not disclosed that year. Years with fewer than five people are omitted.
Where They Work
2025 · employers with 5+
| Employer | People | Median | Top | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ontario Provincial Police | 341 | $126,365 | $227,585 | Pay here → |
| City of Toronto – Police Service | 212 | $123,463 | $233,679 | Pay here → |
| City of Hamilton | 49 | $117,450 | $148,515 | Pay here → |
| City of London – Police Services | 33 | $120,756 | $151,086 | Pay here → |
| City of Kingston – Police Services Board | 16 | $115,992 | $127,094 | Pay here → |
| City of Vaughan | 14 | $137,762 | $145,778 | Pay here → |
| City of Barrie | 14 | $129,244 | $138,375 | Pay here → |
| City of London | 11 | $112,316 | $120,989 | Pay here → |
| City of Sarnia | 10 | $108,364 | $120,614 | Pay here → |
| Metrolinx | 8 | $110,106 | $114,071 | Pay here → |
| City of Brampton | 5 | $132,133 | $141,730 | Pay here → |
| University of Toronto | 5 | $109,948 | $135,630 | Pay here → |
Highest Paid
2025
| # | Name | Employer | Title as filed | Salary | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Brent Mckay | City Of Toronto – Police Service | Communications Operator | $233,679 | $234,647 |
| 2 | Michael Martellotti | Ontario Provincial Police | Communications Operator | $227,585 | $227,754 |
| 3 | Robert Greig | City Of Toronto – Police Service | Communications Operator | $204,808 | $205,127 |
| 4 | Michelle Martel | Ontario Provincial Police | Communications Operator | $180,893 | $181,063 |
| 5 | Karen Kelly | Ontario Provincial Police | Communications Operator | $180,777 | $180,947 |
| 6 | Jillian Wrigley | Ontario Provincial Police | Communications Operator | $180,769 | $180,940 |
| 7 | Brittany Quin | Ontario Provincial Police | Communications Operator | $178,879 | $179,047 |
| 8 | Peter Karagiannis | City Of Toronto – Police Service | Communications Operator | $178,625 | $179,594 |
| 9 | Jeanine Aubin | Ontario Provincial Police | Communications Operator | $178,471 | $178,639 |
| 10 | Jeremy Fine | City Of Toronto – Police Service | Communications Operator | $173,948 | $174,917 |
By Year
Related Positions
- Constable5,795
- Firefighter5,399
- Police Constable4,778
- Operator3,992
- Primary Care Paramedic2,883
- Sergeant1,597
- Captain1,385
- Plainclothes Police Constable1,286
About these figures
Source: Ontario’s Public Sector Salary Disclosure (the “Sunshine List”), which names every public-sector employee paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year. Figures are disclosed salaries, not market compensation: anyone in this position earning under $100,000 does not appear, so medians here sit above the true median for the job.
Medians and percentiles use salary paid (benefits excluded), computed over records whose filed job title was normalized into this position. Titles are as each employer filed them; spellings, word order and bilingual forms are merged. Employers and years with fewer than five people show counts only. 2023: job titles were not disclosed, so that year has no position data.
Data through 2025, the most recent Sunshine List disclosed.