Director Health Protection Salary in Ontario (2025)
162 disclosed records, 1998–2025 · mostly Hospitals & Boards of Public Health (57%)
Last filed under this title in 2025. Fewer than 20 records in the latest Sunshine List, so this page is kept for history.
At a Glance
2025
Disclosed
8
2025 Sunshine List
Median Salary
$174,941
+43.1% vs provincial median
Typical Range
$139,150–$193,126
25th–75th percentile
Top Salary
$209,475
Who is the highest-paid Director Health Protection in Ontario?
The highest-paid Director Health Protection on the 2025 Sunshine List was Dimitra Kasimos at Regional Municipality Of Halton, with a salary of $209,475; the median among the 8 listed under this title was $174,941.
Take-Home Pay
(After Tax) · 2025 estimate
A Director Health Protection paid the 2025 median of $174,941 would take home roughly $117,610 after income tax, CPP and EI — about $9,801 a month, an effective rate of about 29.6%. Half of those listed earned between $139,150 and $193,126. That is about 43% above the 2025 median across the whole list, $122,262. Pension contributions — likely HOOPP in the Hospitals & Boards of Public Health sector — would typically trim another 7–10% off that figure.
- Estimated net pay
- ~$117,610
- Effective income-tax rate (excl. CPP/EI)
- ~29.6%
- CPP + EI contributions
- ~$5,507
- Per month, after tax
- ~$9,801
Where does $174,941 rank on the Sunshine List? →
Estimate only: 2025 federal and Ontario rates, basic personal amounts, Canada employment amount and CPP/EI credits; single, employment income only, salary treated as full-year income. Ignores pension contributions (OMERS, HOOPP, OTPP, OPTrust and similar plans lower actual take-home), union dues, RRSPs and benefits.
Median by Year
2005–2025
Median salary paid among disclosed records. 2023 is absent: job titles were not disclosed that year. Years with fewer than five people are omitted.
Highest Paid
2025
| # | Name | Employer | Title as filed | Salary | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Dimitra Kasimos | Regional Municipality Of Halton | Director, Health Protection | $209,475 | $210,460 |
| 2 | Andrew Hendriks | City Of Ottawa | Director, Health Protection | $203,130 | $203,757 |
| 3 | Giuseppe Lamarca | Regional Municipality Of York | Director Health Protection | $193,126 | $193,740 |
| 4 | Anthony Di Pietro | Regional Municipality Of Durham | Director, Health Protection | $190,524 | $191,764 |
| 5 | Diana Gowanlock | Thunder Bay District Health Unit | Director, Health Protection | $159,358 | $159,711 |
| 6 | Michelle Regan | Board of Health for the Grand Erie Health Unit | Director, Health Protection | $156,774 | $158,030 |
| 7 | Erin Vereyken | Renfrew County And District Health Unit | Director, Health Protection | $139,150 | $140,791 |
| 8 | Stephanie Pongracz | Regional Municipality Of Halton | Director, Health Protection | $126,163 | $126,163 |
By Year
Related Positions
- Registered Nurse31,254
- Manager2,664
- Nurse Practitioner1,832
- Social Worker1,812
- Pharmacist1,371
- Physiotherapist1,351
- Registered Practical Nurse1,317
- Occupational Therapist1,181
About these figures
Source: Ontario’s Public Sector Salary Disclosure (the “Sunshine List”), which names every public-sector employee paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year. Figures are disclosed salaries, not market compensation: anyone in this position earning under $100,000 does not appear, so medians here sit above the true median for the job.
Medians and percentiles use salary paid (benefits excluded), computed over records whose filed job title was normalized into this position. Titles are as each employer filed them; spellings, word order and bilingual forms are merged. Employers and years with fewer than five people show counts only. 2023: job titles were not disclosed, so that year has no position data. Titles before 2005 were abbreviated at source; the chart starts at 2005.
Data through 2025, the most recent Sunshine List disclosed.