Director of Emergency Services and Fire Chief Salary in Ontario (2025)
103 disclosed records, 2004–2025 · mostly Municipalities & Services (100%)
Last filed under this title in 2025. Fewer than 20 records in the latest Sunshine List, so this page is kept for history.
At a Glance
2025
Disclosed
15
2025 Sunshine List
Median Salary
$150,326
+23.0% vs provincial median
Typical Range
$135,456–$181,672
25th–75th percentile
Top Salary
$235,483
Who is the highest-paid Director of Emergency Services and Fire Chief in Ontario?
The highest-paid Director of Emergency Services and Fire Chief on the 2025 Sunshine List was Ronald Jenkins at Town Of Georgina, with a salary of $235,483; the median among the 15 listed under this title was $150,326.
Take-Home Pay
(After Tax) · 2025 estimate
Federal and Ontario income tax on the 2025 Director of Emergency Services and Fire Chief median of $150,326 comes to about 27.1%, leaving roughly $104,053 a year — about $8,671 a month. Across every sector the 2025 median was $122,262, so this position sits about 23% above it. The middle half of Director of Emergency Services and Fire Chief salaries ran from $135,456 to $181,672. After pension contributions (probably OMERS in this sector), take-home is usually a further 7–10% lower.
- Estimated net pay
- ~$104,053
- Effective income-tax rate (excl. CPP/EI)
- ~27.1%
- CPP + EI contributions
- ~$5,507
- Per month, after tax
- ~$8,671
Where does $150,326 rank on the Sunshine List? →
Estimate only: 2025 federal and Ontario rates, basic personal amounts, Canada employment amount and CPP/EI credits; single, employment income only, salary treated as full-year income. Ignores pension contributions (OMERS, HOOPP, OTPP, OPTrust and similar plans lower actual take-home), union dues, RRSPs and benefits.
Median by Year
2005–2025
Median salary paid among disclosed records. 2023 is absent: job titles were not disclosed that year. Years with fewer than five people are omitted.
Highest Paid
2025
| # | Name | Employer | Title as filed | Salary | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Ronald Jenkins | Town Of Georgina | Director Emergency Services / Fire Chief | $235,483 | $244,196 |
| 2 | Kevin White | City Of Barrie | Director of Emergency Services – Fire Chief | $229,292 | $231,591 |
| 3 | Daniel Heydon | Town Of New Tecumseth | Director, Emergency Services / Fire Chief | $181,763 | $182,748 |
| 4 | Richard Boyes | Township Of St. Clair | Director of Emergency Services/Fire Chief | $181,672 | $182,640 |
| 5 | John Thomas | City Of Elliot Lake | Director, Emergency Services Fire Chief | $165,471 | $166,691 |
| 6 | Scott Tegler | Town Of Tillsonburg | Director of Emergency Services/Fire Chief | $157,982 | $158,634 |
| 7 | Kent Readman | Loyalist Township | Director of Emergency Services and Fire Chief | $155,402 | $156,628 |
| 8 | Colin Toth | Municipality Of Middlesex Centre | Director of Emergency Services and Fire Chief | $150,326 | $151,130 |
| 9 | Jeff Mcarthur | Township Of Southwold | Director of Emergency Services/Fire Chief | $143,273 | $148,348 |
| 10 | Richard Renaud | Town Of Penetanguishene | Director of Emergency Services / Fire Chief | $143,174 | $144,114 |
By Year
Related Positions
- Constable5,795
- Firefighter5,399
- Police Constable4,778
- Operator3,992
- Primary Care Paramedic2,883
- Sergeant1,600
- Captain1,385
- Plainclothes Police Constable1,286
About these figures
Source: Ontario’s Public Sector Salary Disclosure (the “Sunshine List”), which names every public-sector employee paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year. Figures are disclosed salaries, not market compensation: anyone in this position earning under $100,000 does not appear, so medians here sit above the true median for the job.
Medians and percentiles use salary paid (benefits excluded), computed over records whose filed job title was normalized into this position. Titles are as each employer filed them; spellings, word order and bilingual forms are merged. Employers and years with fewer than five people show counts only. 2023: job titles were not disclosed, so that year has no position data. Titles before 2005 were abbreviated at source; the chart starts at 2005.
Data through 2025, the most recent Sunshine List disclosed.