Engineering Technologist - Rail Cars and Shops Salary in Ontario (2025)
402 disclosed records, 2013–2025 · mostly Municipalities & Services (100%)
At a Glance
2025
Disclosed
54
2025 Sunshine List
Median Salary
$129,732
+6.1% vs provincial median
Typical Range
$122,512–$130,093
25th–75th percentile
Top Salary
$139,515
Who is the highest-paid Engineering Technologist - Rail Cars and Shops in Ontario?
The highest-paid Engineering Technologist - Rail Cars and Shops on the 2025 Sunshine List was Dan Chimet at City Of Toronto – Toronto Transit Commission, with a salary of $139,515; the median among the 54 listed under this title was $129,732.
Take-Home Pay
(After Tax) · 2025 estimate
A Engineering Technologist - Rail Cars and Shops paid the 2025 median of $129,732 would take home roughly $92,399 after federal and Ontario income tax — about $7,700 a month, an effective rate of about 24.5%. That is about 6% above the 2025 median across the whole list, $122,262. Pension contributions — likely OMERS in the Municipalities & Services sector — would typically trim another 7–10% off that figure.
- Estimated net pay
- ~$92,399
- Effective income-tax rate (excl. CPP/EI)
- ~24.5%
- CPP + EI contributions
- ~$5,507
- Per month, after tax
- ~$7,700
Where does $129,732 rank on the Sunshine List? →
Estimate only: 2025 federal and Ontario rates, basic personal amounts, Canada employment amount and CPP/EI credits; single, employment income only, salary treated as full-year income. Ignores pension contributions (OMERS, HOOPP, OTPP, OPTrust and similar plans lower actual take-home), union dues, RRSPs and benefits.
Median by Year
2005–2025
Median salary paid among disclosed records. 2023 is absent: job titles were not disclosed that year. Years with fewer than five people are omitted.
Where They Work
2025 · employers with 5+
| Employer | People | Median | Top | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| City of Toronto – Toronto Transit Commission | 54 | $129,732 | $139,515 | Pay here → |
Highest Paid
2025
| # | Name | Employer | Title as filed | Salary | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Dan Chimet | City Of Toronto – Toronto Transit Commission | Engineering Technologist – Rail Cars and Shops | $139,515 | $139,950 |
| 2 | Gevork Ghahramanian | City Of Toronto – Toronto Transit Commission | Engineering Technologist – Rail Cars and Shops | $136,952 | $137,388 |
| 3 | Nicu Boboc | City Of Toronto – Toronto Transit Commission | Engineering Technologist – Rail Cars and Shops | $136,163 | $136,598 |
| 4 | Amarkumar Patel | City Of Toronto – Toronto Transit Commission | Engineering Technologist – Rail Cars and Shops | $132,441 | $132,845 |
| 5 | Valeriu Ceoca | City Of Toronto – Toronto Transit Commission | Engineering Technologist – Rail Cars and Shops | $132,139 | $132,575 |
| 6 | Lawrence Owusu | City Of Toronto – Toronto Transit Commission | Engineering Technologist – Rail Cars and Shops | $131,957 | $132,338 |
| 7 | Vishalkumar Patel | City Of Toronto – Toronto Transit Commission | Engineering Technologist – Rail Cars and Shops | $131,898 | $132,334 |
| 8 | Alexandru Sturzu | City Of Toronto – Toronto Transit Commission | Engineering Technologist – Rail Cars and Shops | $131,635 | $132,071 |
| 9 | Dieulesait Tamo Kuate | City Of Toronto – Toronto Transit Commission | Engineering Technologist – Rail Cars and Shops | $131,286 | $131,722 |
| 10 | Evgen Byelovol | City Of Toronto – Toronto Transit Commission | Engineering Technologist – Rail Cars and Shops | $131,176 | $131,612 |
By Year
Related Positions
- Constable5,795
- Firefighter5,399
- Police Constable4,778
- Operator3,992
- Primary Care Paramedic2,883
- Sergeant1,597
- Captain1,385
- Plainclothes Police Constable1,286
About these figures
Source: Ontario’s Public Sector Salary Disclosure (the “Sunshine List”), which names every public-sector employee paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year. Figures are disclosed salaries, not market compensation: anyone in this position earning under $100,000 does not appear, so medians here sit above the true median for the job.
Medians and percentiles use salary paid (benefits excluded), computed over records whose filed job title was normalized into this position. Titles are as each employer filed them; spellings, word order and bilingual forms are merged. Employers and years with fewer than five people show counts only. 2023: job titles were not disclosed, so that year has no position data.
Data through 2025, the most recent Sunshine List disclosed.