Medical Director Salary in Ontario (2025)
264 disclosed records, 1996–2025 · mostly Hospitals & Boards of Public Health (50%)
Last filed under this title in 2025. Fewer than 20 records in the latest Sunshine List, so this page is kept for history.
At a Glance
2025
Disclosed
10
2025 Sunshine List
Median Salary
$165,815
+35.6% vs provincial median
Typical Range
$129,602–$321,241
25th–75th percentile
Top Salary
$438,647
Who is the highest-paid Medical Director in Ontario?
The highest-paid Medical Director on the 2025 Sunshine List was Ajit Ninan at Children, Community and Social Services, with a salary of $438,647; the median among the 10 listed under this title was $165,815.
Take-Home Pay
(After Tax) · 2025 estimate
At the 2025 median salary of $165,815, a Medical Director keeps roughly $112,589 after income tax, CPP and EI (about 28.8% effective), or about $9,382 a month. That is about 36% above the 2025 median across the whole list, $122,262. The 2025 list carries 10 people filed as Medical Director. Pension contributions — likely HOOPP in the Hospitals & Boards of Public Health sector — would typically trim another 7–10% off that figure.
- Estimated net pay
- ~$112,589
- Effective income-tax rate (excl. CPP/EI)
- ~28.8%
- CPP + EI contributions
- ~$5,507
- Per month, after tax
- ~$9,382
Where does $165,815 rank on the Sunshine List? →
Estimate only: 2025 federal and Ontario rates, basic personal amounts, Canada employment amount and CPP/EI credits; single, employment income only, salary treated as full-year income. Ignores pension contributions (OMERS, HOOPP, OTPP, OPTrust and similar plans lower actual take-home), union dues, RRSPs and benefits.
Median by Year
2005–2025
Median salary paid among disclosed records. 2023 is absent: job titles were not disclosed that year. Years with fewer than five people are omitted.
Highest Paid
2025
| # | Name | Employer | Title as filed | Salary | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Ajit Ninan | Children, Community and Social Services | Medical Director | $438,647 | $439,186 |
| 2 | Jillie Retson | Kenora Chiefs Advisory Inc | Medical Director | $408,860 | $408,860 |
| 3 | James Stewart | University Of Western Ontario | Medical Director | $321,241 | $321,340 |
| 4 | David Wyndha Lawrence | University Of Toronto | Medical Director | $185,815 | $185,941 |
| 5 | Duate Adegbite | City Of Toronto | Medical Director | $181,706 | $181,706 |
| 6 | Simon Hatcher | Ottawa Inner City Health Inc | Medical Director/directeur médical | $149,923 | $149,923 |
| 7 | Raphael Rush | Salvation Army Toronto Grace Health Centre | Medical Director | $148,564 | $149,435 |
| 8 | Patrick Leclair | University Of Ottawa | Directrice médicale, directeur médical / Medical Director | $129,602 | $129,602 |
| 9 | Lucas Castellani | Sault Area Hospital | Medical Director/Directeur médical | $113,984 | $113,984 |
| 10 | Adam Enchin | SickKids Centre For Community Mental Health | Medical Director | $100,000 | $100,000 |
By Year
Related Positions
- Registered Nurse31,254
- Manager2,664
- Nurse Practitioner1,832
- Social Worker1,812
- Pharmacist1,371
- Physiotherapist1,351
- Registered Practical Nurse1,317
- Occupational Therapist1,181
About these figures
Source: Ontario’s Public Sector Salary Disclosure (the “Sunshine List”), which names every public-sector employee paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year. Figures are disclosed salaries, not market compensation: anyone in this position earning under $100,000 does not appear, so medians here sit above the true median for the job.
Medians and percentiles use salary paid (benefits excluded), computed over records whose filed job title was normalized into this position. Titles are as each employer filed them; spellings, word order and bilingual forms are merged. Employers and years with fewer than five people show counts only. 2023: job titles were not disclosed, so that year has no position data. Titles before 2005 were abbreviated at source; the chart starts at 2005.
Data through 2025, the most recent Sunshine List disclosed.