Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering Salary in Ontario (2025)
973 disclosed records, 1996–2025 · mostly Universities (100%)
At a Glance
2025
Disclosed
52
2025 Sunshine List
Median Salary
$277,486
+127.0% vs provincial median
Typical Range
$265,576–$295,359
25th–75th percentile
Top Salary
$386,130
Who is the highest-paid Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering in Ontario?
The highest-paid Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering on the 2025 Sunshine List was George Eleftheriades at University Of Toronto, with a salary of $386,130; the median among the 52 listed under this title was $277,486.
Take-Home Pay
(After Tax) · 2025 estimate
At the 2025 median salary of $277,486, a Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering keeps roughly $168,905 after income tax, CPP and EI (about 37.1% effective), or about $14,075 a month. 52 people were listed under this title in 2025. The middle half of Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering salaries ran from $265,576 to $295,359. This estimate leaves out pension contributions; members of OMERS, OTPP, HOOPP or OPTrust typically take home another 7–10% less.
- Estimated net pay
- ~$168,905
- Effective income-tax rate (excl. CPP/EI)
- ~37.1%
- CPP + EI contributions
- ~$5,507
- Per month, after tax
- ~$14,075
Where does $277,486 rank on the Sunshine List? →
Estimate only: 2025 federal and Ontario rates, basic personal amounts, Canada employment amount and CPP/EI credits; single, employment income only, salary treated as full-year income. Ignores pension contributions (OMERS, HOOPP, OTPP, OPTrust and similar plans lower actual take-home), union dues, RRSPs and benefits.
Median by Year
2005–2025
Median salary paid among disclosed records. 2023 is absent: job titles were not disclosed that year. Years with fewer than five people are omitted.
Where They Work
2025 · employers with 5+
| Employer | People | Median | Top | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Toronto | 52 | $277,486 | $386,130 | Pay here → |
Highest Paid
2025
| # | Name | Employer | Title as filed | Salary | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | George Eleftheriades | University Of Toronto | Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering | $386,130 | $386,256 |
| 2 | Ali Sheikholeslami | University Of Toronto | Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering | $339,974 | $340,100 |
| 3 | Frank Kschischang | University Of Toronto | Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering | $337,394 | $337,603 |
| 4 | Farid Najm | University Of Toronto | Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering | $330,983 | $331,281 |
| 5 | Jose Joaquin Garcia-Luna-Aceves | University Of Toronto | Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering | $330,765 | $330,765 |
| 6 | Glenn Gulak | University Of Toronto | Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering | $330,467 | $330,593 |
| 7 | Jonathan Rose | University Of Toronto | Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering | $329,519 | $329,645 |
| 8 | J. Stewart Aitchison | University Of Toronto | Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering | $329,287 | $329,523 |
| 9 | Sorin Voinigescu | University Of Toronto | Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering | $326,751 | $326,910 |
| 10 | Baochun Li | University Of Toronto | Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering | $314,920 | $315,171 |
By Year
Related Positions
About these figures
Source: Ontario’s Public Sector Salary Disclosure (the “Sunshine List”), which names every public-sector employee paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year. Figures are disclosed salaries, not market compensation: anyone in this position earning under $100,000 does not appear, so medians here sit above the true median for the job.
Medians and percentiles use salary paid (benefits excluded), computed over records whose filed job title was normalized into this position. Titles are as each employer filed them; spellings, word order and bilingual forms are merged. Employers and years with fewer than five people show counts only. 2023: job titles were not disclosed, so that year has no position data. Titles before 2005 were abbreviated at source; the chart starts at 2005.
Data through 2025, the most recent Sunshine List disclosed.