Professor of English Salary in Ontario (2025)
1,121 disclosed records, 1996–2025 · mostly Universities (100%)
At a Glance
2025
Disclosed
30
2025 Sunshine List
Median Salary
$226,358
+85.1% vs provincial median
Typical Range
$187,945–$237,489
25th–75th percentile
Top Salary
$294,090
Who is the highest-paid Professor of English in Ontario?
The highest-paid Professor of English on the 2025 Sunshine List was John Rogers at University Of Toronto, with a salary of $294,090; the median among the 30 listed under this title was $226,358.
Take-Home Pay
(After Tax) · 2025 estimate
At the 2025 median salary of $226,358, a Professor of English keeps roughly $144,106 after income tax, CPP and EI (about 33.9% effective), or about $12,009 a month. The 2025 list carries 30 people filed as Professor of English. The middle half of Professor of English salaries ran from $187,945 to $237,489. Members of OMERS, OTPP, HOOPP or OPTrust typically take home another 7–10% less after pension contributions, which this estimate leaves out.
- Estimated net pay
- ~$144,106
- Effective income-tax rate (excl. CPP/EI)
- ~33.9%
- CPP + EI contributions
- ~$5,507
- Per month, after tax
- ~$12,009
Where does $226,358 rank on the Sunshine List? →
Estimate only: 2025 federal and Ontario rates, basic personal amounts, Canada employment amount and CPP/EI credits; single, employment income only, salary treated as full-year income. Ignores pension contributions (OMERS, HOOPP, OTPP, OPTrust and similar plans lower actual take-home), union dues, RRSPs and benefits.
Median by Year
2005–2025
Median salary paid among disclosed records. 2023 is absent: job titles were not disclosed that year. Years with fewer than five people are omitted.
Where They Work
2025 · employers with 5+
| Employer | People | Median | Top | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Toronto | 30 | $226,358 | $294,090 | Pay here → |
Highest Paid
2025
| # | Name | Employer | Title as filed | Salary | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | John Rogers | University Of Toronto | Professor of English | $294,090 | $324,867 |
| 2 | Smaro Kamboureli | University Of Toronto | Professor of English | $287,164 | $287,290 |
| 3 | Lynne Magnusson | University Of Toronto | Professor of English | $265,859 | $265,859 |
| 4 | George Ellio Clarke | University Of Toronto | Professor of English | $262,731 | $262,857 |
| 5 | Irene Morra | University Of Toronto | Professor of English | $248,866 | $248,992 |
| 6 | Emmett Schmitt | University Of Toronto | Professor of English | $248,619 | $248,828 |
| 7 | Garry Leonard | University Of Toronto | Professor of English | $240,943 | $241,069 |
| 8 | Alan Ackerman | University Of Toronto | Professor of English | $237,489 | $237,594 |
| 9 | Nick Mount | University Of Toronto | Professor of English | $237,178 | $237,429 |
| 10 | Carol Percy | University Of Toronto | Professor of English | $235,916 | $236,084 |
By Year
Related Positions
About these figures
Source: Ontario’s Public Sector Salary Disclosure (the “Sunshine List”), which names every public-sector employee paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year. Figures are disclosed salaries, not market compensation: anyone in this position earning under $100,000 does not appear, so medians here sit above the true median for the job.
Medians and percentiles use salary paid (benefits excluded), computed over records whose filed job title was normalized into this position. Titles are as each employer filed them; spellings, word order and bilingual forms are merged. Employers and years with fewer than five people show counts only. 2023: job titles were not disclosed, so that year has no position data. Titles before 2005 were abbreviated at source; the chart starts at 2005.
Data through 2025, the most recent Sunshine List disclosed.