Professor of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering Salary in Ontario (2025)
610 disclosed records, 1996–2025 · mostly Universities (100%)
At a Glance
2025
Disclosed
38
2025 Sunshine List
Median Salary
$276,071
+125.8% vs provincial median
Typical Range
$243,926–$309,983
25th–75th percentile
Top Salary
$447,725
Who is the highest-paid Professor of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering in Ontario?
The highest-paid Professor of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering on the 2025 Sunshine List was Cristina Amon at University Of Toronto, with a salary of $447,725; the median among the 38 listed under this title was $276,071.
Take-Home Pay
(After Tax) · 2025 estimate
At the 2025 median salary of $276,071, a Professor of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering keeps roughly $168,248 after income tax, CPP and EI (about 37.1% effective), or about $14,021 a month. Half of those listed earned between $243,926 and $309,983. Across every sector the 2025 median was $122,262, so this position sits about 126% above it. This estimate leaves out pension contributions; members of OMERS, OTPP, HOOPP or OPTrust typically take home another 7–10% less.
- Estimated net pay
- ~$168,248
- Effective income-tax rate (excl. CPP/EI)
- ~37.1%
- CPP + EI contributions
- ~$5,507
- Per month, after tax
- ~$14,021
Where does $276,071 rank on the Sunshine List? →
Estimate only: 2025 federal and Ontario rates, basic personal amounts, Canada employment amount and CPP/EI credits; single, employment income only, salary treated as full-year income. Ignores pension contributions (OMERS, HOOPP, OTPP, OPTrust and similar plans lower actual take-home), union dues, RRSPs and benefits.
Median by Year
2005–2025
Median salary paid among disclosed records. 2023 is absent: job titles were not disclosed that year. Years with fewer than five people are omitted.
Where They Work
2025 · employers with 5+
| Employer | People | Median | Top | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Toronto | 38 | $276,071 | $447,725 | Pay here → |
Highest Paid
2025
| # | Name | Employer | Title as filed | Salary | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Cristina Amon | University Of Toronto | Professor of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering | $447,725 | $447,851 |
| 2 | David Sinton | University Of Toronto | Professor of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering | $363,510 | $363,761 |
| 3 | Kamran Behdinan | University Of Toronto | Professor of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering | $355,623 | $356,800 |
| 4 | Javad Mostaghimi | University Of Toronto | Professor of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering | $355,340 | $355,340 |
| 5 | Roy Kwon | University Of Toronto | Professor of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering | $335,574 | $335,825 |
| 6 | Mohini Sain | University Of Toronto | Professor of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering | $334,118 | $334,244 |
| 7 | Shaker Meguid | University Of Toronto | Professor of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering | $320,399 | $320,399 |
| 8 | Ridha Ben Mrad | University Of Toronto | Professor of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering | $318,333 | $318,459 |
| 9 | Chul Park | University Of Toronto | Professor of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering | $315,841 | $316,059 |
| 10 | Chi-Guhn Lee | University Of Toronto | Professor of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering | $309,983 | $310,151 |
By Year
Related Positions
About these figures
Source: Ontario’s Public Sector Salary Disclosure (the “Sunshine List”), which names every public-sector employee paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year. Figures are disclosed salaries, not market compensation: anyone in this position earning under $100,000 does not appear, so medians here sit above the true median for the job.
Medians and percentiles use salary paid (benefits excluded), computed over records whose filed job title was normalized into this position. Titles are as each employer filed them; spellings, word order and bilingual forms are merged. Employers and years with fewer than five people show counts only. 2023: job titles were not disclosed, so that year has no position data. Titles before 2005 were abbreviated at source; the chart starts at 2005.
Data through 2025, the most recent Sunshine List disclosed.