Senior Technical Specialist Salary in Ontario (2025)
818 disclosed records, 1996–2025 · mostly Hydro One and Ontario Power Generation (47%)
At a Glance
2025
Disclosed
119
2025 Sunshine List
Median Salary
$120,156
-1.7% vs provincial median
Typical Range
$110,545–$140,423
25th–75th percentile
Top Salary
$221,537
Who is the highest-paid Senior Technical Specialist in Ontario?
The highest-paid Senior Technical Specialist on the 2025 Sunshine List was Owen Clarke at Ontario Power Generation, with a salary of $221,537; the median among the 119 listed under this title was $120,156.
Take-Home Pay
(After Tax) · 2025 estimate
A Senior Technical Specialist paid the 2025 median of $120,156 would take home roughly $86,980 after income tax, CPP and EI — about $7,248 a month, an effective rate of about 23.0%. Half of those listed earned between $110,545 and $140,423. Across every sector the 2025 median was $122,262, so this position sits about 2% below it. Members of OMERS, OTPP, HOOPP or OPTrust typically take home another 7–10% less after pension contributions, which this estimate leaves out.
- Estimated net pay
- ~$86,980
- Effective income-tax rate (excl. CPP/EI)
- ~23.0%
- CPP + EI contributions
- ~$5,507
- Per month, after tax
- ~$7,248
Where does $120,156 rank on the Sunshine List? →
Estimate only: 2025 federal and Ontario rates, basic personal amounts, Canada employment amount and CPP/EI credits; single, employment income only, salary treated as full-year income. Ignores pension contributions (OMERS, HOOPP, OTPP, OPTrust and similar plans lower actual take-home), union dues, RRSPs and benefits.
Median by Year
2005–2025
Median salary paid among disclosed records. 2023 is absent: job titles were not disclosed that year. Years with fewer than five people are omitted.
Where They Work
2025 · employers with 5+
| Employer | People | Median | Top | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ontario Health | 53 | $113,459 | $183,276 | Pay here → |
| Hospital for Sick Children | 22 | $121,466 | $161,788 | Pay here → |
| Ontario Power Generation | 19 | $163,352 | $221,537 | Pay here → |
| Scarborough Health Network | 9 | $116,141 | $130,007 | Pay here → |
| University Health Network | 7 | $158,976 | $179,159 | Pay here → |
Highest Paid
2025
| # | Name | Employer | Title as filed | Salary | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Owen Clarke | Ontario Power Generation | Senior Technical Specialist | $221,537 | $227,571 |
| 2 | Roelof Beek | Ontario Power Generation | Senior Technical Specialist | $206,433 | $207,559 |
| 3 | Mihai Vasilianu | Ontario Power Generation | Senior Technical Specialist | $201,880 | $208,020 |
| 4 | Wargha Peiman | Ontario Power Generation | Senior Technical Specialist | $185,397 | $186,311 |
| 5 | Fatima Al-Zahra | Ontario Health | Senior Specialist, Technical/Spécialiste principale, Services techniques | $183,276 | $185,528 |
| 6 | Xiaofeng Qiu | University Health Network | Senior Technical Specialist | $179,159 | $179,463 |
| 7 | Ann Stewart | Ontario Power Generation | Senior Technical Specialist | $177,670 | $183,178 |
| 8 | Gordon Walker | University Health Network | Senior Technical Specialist | $176,663 | $176,932 |
| 9 | Alexandre Fedorenko | University Health Network | Senior Technical Specialist | $175,834 | $176,125 |
| 10 | Lee Wells | Ontario Power Generation | Senior Technical Specialist | $175,142 | $181,070 |
By Year
Related Positions
About these figures
Source: Ontario’s Public Sector Salary Disclosure (the “Sunshine List”), which names every public-sector employee paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year. Figures are disclosed salaries, not market compensation: anyone in this position earning under $100,000 does not appear, so medians here sit above the true median for the job.
Medians and percentiles use salary paid (benefits excluded), computed over records whose filed job title was normalized into this position. Titles are as each employer filed them; spellings, word order and bilingual forms are merged. Employers and years with fewer than five people show counts only. 2023: job titles were not disclosed, so that year has no position data. Titles before 2005 were abbreviated at source; the chart starts at 2005.
Data through 2025, the most recent Sunshine List disclosed.