University Librarian Salary in Ontario (2025)
249 disclosed records, 1996–2025 · mostly Universities (100%)
Last filed under this title in 2025. Fewer than 20 records in the latest Sunshine List, so this page is kept for history.
At a Glance
2025
Disclosed
13
2025 Sunshine List
Median Salary
$203,398
+66.4% vs provincial median
Typical Range
$165,941–$229,621
25th–75th percentile
Top Salary
$267,043
Who is the highest-paid University Librarian in Ontario?
The highest-paid University Librarian on the 2025 Sunshine List was Vivian Lewis at McMaster University, with a salary of $267,043; the median among the 13 listed under this title was $203,398.
Take-Home Pay
(After Tax) · 2025 estimate
At the 2025 median salary of $203,398, a University Librarian keeps roughly $132,313 after federal and Ontario income tax (about 32.2% effective), or about $11,026 a month. 13 people were listed under this title in 2025. The middle half of University Librarian salaries ran from $165,941 to $229,621. Members of OMERS, OTPP, HOOPP or OPTrust typically take home another 7–10% less after pension contributions, which this estimate leaves out.
- Estimated net pay
- ~$132,313
- Effective income-tax rate (excl. CPP/EI)
- ~32.2%
- CPP + EI contributions
- ~$5,507
- Per month, after tax
- ~$11,026
Where does $203,398 rank on the Sunshine List? →
Estimate only: 2025 federal and Ontario rates, basic personal amounts, Canada employment amount and CPP/EI credits; single, employment income only, salary treated as full-year income. Ignores pension contributions (OMERS, HOOPP, OTPP, OPTrust and similar plans lower actual take-home), union dues, RRSPs and benefits.
Median by Year
2005–2025
Median salary paid among disclosed records. 2023 is absent: job titles were not disclosed that year. Years with fewer than five people are omitted.
Highest Paid
2025
| # | Name | Employer | Title as filed | Salary | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Vivian Lewis | McMaster University | University Librarian | $267,043 | $277,452 |
| 2 | Beth S. Namachchivaya | University Of Waterloo | University Librarian | $255,146 | $255,680 |
| 3 | Amanda Etches | University Of Guelph | University Librarian | $246,654 | $247,505 |
| 4 | Scott Gillies | Wilfrid Laurier University | University Librarian | $229,621 | $230,398 |
| 5 | Selinda Berg | University Of Windsor | University Librarian | $220,791 | $221,946 |
| 6 | Catherine Davidson | Ontario Tech University | University Librarian | $220,431 | $220,813 |
| 7 | Nicole Nolan | Brock University | University Librarian | $203,398 | $203,935 |
| 8 | Susan Kun | Ontario College Of Art And Design University | University Librarian | $172,385 | $173,715 |
| 9 | Danielle Dennie | Laurentian University Of Sudbury | Bibliothécaire en chef / University Librarian | $170,250 | $171,005 |
| 10 | Robin Canuel | Lakehead University | University Librarian | $165,941 | $167,031 |
By Year
Related Positions
About these figures
Source: Ontario’s Public Sector Salary Disclosure (the “Sunshine List”), which names every public-sector employee paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year. Figures are disclosed salaries, not market compensation: anyone in this position earning under $100,000 does not appear, so medians here sit above the true median for the job.
Medians and percentiles use salary paid (benefits excluded), computed over records whose filed job title was normalized into this position. Titles are as each employer filed them; spellings, word order and bilingual forms are merged. Employers and years with fewer than five people show counts only. 2023: job titles were not disclosed, so that year has no position data. Titles before 2005 were abbreviated at source; the chart starts at 2005.
Data through 2025, the most recent Sunshine List disclosed.