Dean & Professor Salary in Ontario (2025)
535 disclosed records, 1996–2025 · mostly Universities (100%)
At a Glance
2025
Disclosed
20
2025 Sunshine List
Median Salary
$325,427
+166.2% vs provincial median
Typical Range
$259,767–$362,410
25th–75th percentile
Top Salary
$486,654
Who is the highest-paid Dean & Professor in Ontario?
The highest-paid Dean & Professor on the 2025 Sunshine List was David Peters at York University, with a salary of $486,654; the median among the 20 listed under this title was $325,427.
Take-Home Pay
(After Tax) · 2025 estimate
At the 2025 median salary of $325,427, a Dean & Professor keeps roughly $191,183 after income tax, CPP and EI (about 39.6% effective), or about $15,932 a month. That is about 166% above the 2025 median across the whole list, $122,262. Half of those listed earned between $259,767 and $362,410. The 2025 list carries 20 people filed as Dean & Professor. This estimate leaves out pension contributions; members of OMERS, OTPP, HOOPP or OPTrust typically take home another 7–10% less.
- Estimated net pay
- ~$191,183
- Effective income-tax rate (excl. CPP/EI)
- ~39.6%
- CPP + EI contributions
- ~$5,507
- Per month, after tax
- ~$15,932
Where does $325,427 rank on the Sunshine List? →
Estimate only: 2025 federal and Ontario rates, basic personal amounts, Canada employment amount and CPP/EI credits; single, employment income only, salary treated as full-year income. Ignores pension contributions (OMERS, HOOPP, OTPP, OPTrust and similar plans lower actual take-home), union dues, RRSPs and benefits.
Median by Year
2005–2025
Median salary paid among disclosed records. 2023 is absent: job titles were not disclosed that year. Years with fewer than five people are omitted.
Where They Work
2025 · employers with 5+
| Employer | People | Median | Top | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| York University | 9 | $290,505 | $486,654 | Pay here → |
| Mcmaster University | 5 | $348,467 | $423,431 | Pay here → |
| Queen's University | 5 | $325,350 | $362,410 | Pay here → |
Highest Paid
2025
| # | Name | Employer | Title as filed | Salary | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | David Peters | York University | Professor/Dean | $486,654 | $490,384 |
| 2 | Khaled S Hassanein | McMaster University | Dean / Professor | $423,431 | $423,949 |
| 3 | Trevor Farrow | York University | Dean/Professor | $393,788 | $394,744 |
| 4 | Jeremiah Edward Hurley | McMaster University | Dean / Professor | $378,328 | $378,846 |
| 5 | Jane Goodyer | York University | Dean/Professor | $370,047 | $371,003 |
| 6 | Kevin Deluzio | Queen's University | Dean, Professor | $362,410 | $362,682 |
| 7 | Heather Sheardown | McMaster University | Professor / Dean | $348,467 | $348,984 |
| 8 | Barbara Crow | Queen's University | Dean, Professor | $337,438 | $337,710 |
| 9 | Rui Wang | York University | Dean/Professor | $326,536 | $327,014 |
| 10 | Gretchen Kerr | University Of Toronto | Professor and Dean | $325,504 | $325,673 |
By Year
Related Positions
About these figures
Source: Ontario’s Public Sector Salary Disclosure (the “Sunshine List”), which names every public-sector employee paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year. Figures are disclosed salaries, not market compensation: anyone in this position earning under $100,000 does not appear, so medians here sit above the true median for the job.
Medians and percentiles use salary paid (benefits excluded), computed over records whose filed job title was normalized into this position. Titles are as each employer filed them; spellings, word order and bilingual forms are merged. Employers and years with fewer than five people show counts only. 2023: job titles were not disclosed, so that year has no position data. Titles before 2005 were abbreviated at source; the chart starts at 2005.
Data through 2025, the most recent Sunshine List disclosed.