Director Occupational Health and Safety Salary in Ontario (2025)
141 disclosed records, 1998–2025 · mostly Hospitals & Boards of Public Health (60%)
Last filed under this title in 2025. Fewer than 20 records in the latest Sunshine List, so this page is kept for history.
At a Glance
2025
Disclosed
8
2025 Sunshine List
Median Salary
$184,009
+50.5% vs provincial median
Typical Range
$158,983–$200,088
25th–75th percentile
Top Salary
$228,573
Who is the highest-paid Director Occupational Health and Safety in Ontario?
The highest-paid Director Occupational Health and Safety on the 2025 Sunshine List was Laura Alexander at The Hospital For Sick Children, with a salary of $228,573; the median among the 8 listed under this title was $184,009.
Take-Home Pay
(After Tax) · 2025 estimate
A Director Occupational Health and Safety paid the 2025 median of $184,009 would take home roughly $122,434 after income tax, CPP and EI — about $10,203 a month, an effective rate of about 30.5%. The middle half of Director Occupational Health and Safety salaries ran from $158,983 to $200,088. Most Hospitals & Boards of Public Health employees belong to HOOPP, so actual take-home is likely another 7–10% lower after pension contributions.
- Estimated net pay
- ~$122,434
- Effective income-tax rate (excl. CPP/EI)
- ~30.5%
- CPP + EI contributions
- ~$5,507
- Per month, after tax
- ~$10,203
Where does $184,009 rank on the Sunshine List? →
Estimate only: 2025 federal and Ontario rates, basic personal amounts, Canada employment amount and CPP/EI credits; single, employment income only, salary treated as full-year income. Ignores pension contributions (OMERS, HOOPP, OTPP, OPTrust and similar plans lower actual take-home), union dues, RRSPs and benefits.
Median by Year
2005–2025
Median salary paid among disclosed records. 2023 is absent: job titles were not disclosed that year. Years with fewer than five people are omitted.
Highest Paid
2025
| # | Name | Employer | Title as filed | Salary | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Laura Alexander | The Hospital For Sick Children | Director, Occupational Health and Safety | $228,573 | $228,573 |
| 2 | Asif Janmohamed | City Of Toronto | Director Occupational Health And Safety | $206,587 | $207,882 |
| 3 | Jenny Kin Ling Ho | Metrolinx | Director, Occupational Health and Safety / Directeur, Santé et sécurité au travail | $200,088 | $200,843 |
| 4 | Jill Nimmo | Queensway Carleton Hospital | Director – Occupational Health and Safety | $191,468 | $192,550 |
| 5 | Yang Ting Shek | University Of Toronto | Director, Occupational Health and Safety | $176,549 | $176,675 |
| 6 | Ernie Dodgson | Ontario Health atHome | Director, Occupational Health and Safety/Directeur, Santé et sécurité au travail | $171,007 | $171,794 |
| 7 | Patricia Peat | Toronto East General Hospital | Director, Occupational Health and Safety | $158,983 | $159,561 |
| 8 | Randy Plener | Ontario Clean Water Agency | Director, Occupational Health and Safety | $117,691 | $117,802 |
By Year
Related Positions
- Registered Nurse31,254
- Manager2,664
- Nurse Practitioner1,832
- Social Worker1,812
- Pharmacist1,371
- Physiotherapist1,351
- Registered Practical Nurse1,317
- Occupational Therapist1,181
About these figures
Source: Ontario’s Public Sector Salary Disclosure (the “Sunshine List”), which names every public-sector employee paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year. Figures are disclosed salaries, not market compensation: anyone in this position earning under $100,000 does not appear, so medians here sit above the true median for the job.
Medians and percentiles use salary paid (benefits excluded), computed over records whose filed job title was normalized into this position. Titles are as each employer filed them; spellings, word order and bilingual forms are merged. Employers and years with fewer than five people show counts only. 2023: job titles were not disclosed, so that year has no position data. Titles before 2005 were abbreviated at source; the chart starts at 2005.
Data through 2025, the most recent Sunshine List disclosed.