Fire Prevention Officer Salary in Ontario (2025)
1,792 disclosed records, 2003–2025 · mostly Municipalities & Services (100%)
At a Glance
2025
Disclosed
164
2025 Sunshine List
Median Salary
$138,046
+12.9% vs provincial median
Typical Range
$125,024–$149,077
25th–75th percentile
Top Salary
$232,160
Who is the highest-paid Fire Prevention Officer in Ontario?
The highest-paid Fire Prevention Officer on the 2025 Sunshine List was Matthew Dewan at City Of Ottawa, with a salary of $232,160; the median among the 164 listed under this title was $138,046.
Take-Home Pay
(After Tax) · 2025 estimate
A Fire Prevention Officer paid the 2025 median of $138,046 would take home roughly $97,104 after income tax, CPP and EI — about $8,092 a month, an effective rate of about 25.7%. 164 people were listed under this title in 2025. That is about 13% above the 2025 median across the whole list, $122,262. Most Municipalities & Services employees belong to OMERS, so actual take-home is likely another 7–10% lower after pension contributions.
- Estimated net pay
- ~$97,104
- Effective income-tax rate (excl. CPP/EI)
- ~25.7%
- CPP + EI contributions
- ~$5,507
- Per month, after tax
- ~$8,092
Where does $138,046 rank on the Sunshine List? →
Estimate only: 2025 federal and Ontario rates, basic personal amounts, Canada employment amount and CPP/EI credits; single, employment income only, salary treated as full-year income. Ignores pension contributions (OMERS, HOOPP, OTPP, OPTrust and similar plans lower actual take-home), union dues, RRSPs and benefits.
Median by Year
2005–2025
Median salary paid among disclosed records. 2023 is absent: job titles were not disclosed that year. Years with fewer than five people are omitted.
Where They Work
2025 · employers with 5+
| Employer | People | Median | Top | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| City of Ottawa | 30 | $145,343 | $232,160 | Pay here → |
| City of Brampton | 14 | $129,384 | $144,860 | Pay here → |
| City of Windsor | 9 | $141,094 | $154,947 | Pay here → |
| City of Kitchener | 8 | $125,110 | $169,841 | Pay here → |
| Town of Oakville | 7 | $143,986 | $155,317 | Pay here → |
| City of Thunder Bay | 7 | $142,050 | $154,601 | Pay here → |
| City of Guelph | 6 | $140,672 | $149,553 | Pay here → |
| City of Markham | 5 | $124,416 | $137,040 | Pay here → |
Highest Paid
2025
| # | Name | Employer | Title as filed | Salary | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Matthew Dewan | City Of Ottawa | Fire Prevention Officer | $232,160 | $232,911 |
| 2 | Eric Dagenais | City Of Ottawa | Fire Prevention Officer | $195,649 | $196,441 |
| 3 | Guy Beaudoin | City Of Ottawa | Fire Prevention Officer | $192,692 | $193,507 |
| 4 | Cale Mclean | Town Of Midland | Fire Prevention Officer | $187,159 | $187,986 |
| 5 | Jeff Snider | City Of Ottawa | Fire Prevention Officer | $183,580 | $184,351 |
| 6 | Brad Maclean | City Of Ottawa | Fire Prevention Officer | $177,427 | $178,178 |
| 7 | Lauren Baechler | City Of Kitchener | Fire Prevention Officer | $169,841 | $170,238 |
| 8 | Megan Thomson | City Of Ottawa | Fire Prevention Officer | $168,586 | $169,357 |
| 9 | Shelby Pozza | City Of Kitchener | Fire Prevention Officer | $167,683 | $168,473 |
| 10 | Shane Mcgrath | City Of Belleville | Fire Prevention Officer | $166,399 | $167,542 |
By Year
Related Positions
- Constable5,795
- Firefighter5,399
- Police Constable4,778
- Operator3,992
- Primary Care Paramedic2,883
- Sergeant1,600
- Captain1,385
- Plainclothes Police Constable1,286
About these figures
Source: Ontario’s Public Sector Salary Disclosure (the “Sunshine List”), which names every public-sector employee paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year. Figures are disclosed salaries, not market compensation: anyone in this position earning under $100,000 does not appear, so medians here sit above the true median for the job.
Medians and percentiles use salary paid (benefits excluded), computed over records whose filed job title was normalized into this position. Titles are as each employer filed them; spellings, word order and bilingual forms are merged. Employers and years with fewer than five people show counts only. 2023: job titles were not disclosed, so that year has no position data. Titles before 2005 were abbreviated at source; the chart starts at 2005.
Data through 2025, the most recent Sunshine List disclosed.