Senior Scientist Salary in Ontario (2025)
1,927 disclosed records, 1996–2025 · mostly Hospitals & Boards of Public Health (80%)
At a Glance
2025
Disclosed
144
2025 Sunshine List
Median Salary
$202,257
+65.4% vs provincial median
Typical Range
$170,470–$255,649
25th–75th percentile
Top Salary
$500,370
Who is the highest-paid Senior Scientist in Ontario?
The highest-paid Senior Scientist on the 2025 Sunshine List was Martin Offringa at The Hospital For Sick Children, with a salary of $500,370; the median among the 144 listed under this title was $202,257.
Take-Home Pay
(After Tax) · 2025 estimate
At the 2025 median salary of $202,257, a Senior Scientist keeps roughly $131,723 after income tax, CPP and EI (about 32.2% effective), or about $10,977 a month. The 2025 list carries 144 people filed as Senior Scientist. Across every sector the 2025 median was $122,262, so this position sits about 65% above it. Pension contributions — likely HOOPP in the Hospitals & Boards of Public Health sector — would typically trim another 7–10% off that figure.
- Estimated net pay
- ~$131,723
- Effective income-tax rate (excl. CPP/EI)
- ~32.2%
- CPP + EI contributions
- ~$5,507
- Per month, after tax
- ~$10,977
Where does $202,257 rank on the Sunshine List? →
Estimate only: 2025 federal and Ontario rates, basic personal amounts, Canada employment amount and CPP/EI credits; single, employment income only, salary treated as full-year income. Ignores pension contributions (OMERS, HOOPP, OTPP, OPTrust and similar plans lower actual take-home), union dues, RRSPs and benefits.
Median by Year
2005–2025
Median salary paid among disclosed records. 2023 is absent: job titles were not disclosed that year. Years with fewer than five people are omitted.
Where They Work
2025 · employers with 5+
| Employer | People | Median | Top | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hospital for Sick Children | 67 | $204,716 | $500,370 | Pay here → |
| Centre for Addiction and Mental Health | 26 | $200,869 | $346,339 | Pay here → |
| Sunnybrook Research Institute | 24 | $230,267 | $340,669 | Pay here → |
| Baycrest Academy for Research and Education | 10 | $164,952 | $256,360 | Pay here → |
| Quantum Valley Ideas Laboratories | 5 | $139,268 | $145,000 | Pay here → |
Highest Paid
2025
| # | Name | Employer | Title as filed | Salary | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Martin Offringa | The Hospital For Sick Children | Senior Scientist | $500,370 | $500,829 |
| 2 | Michael Salter | The Hospital For Sick Children | Senior Scientist | $485,435 | $485,894 |
| 3 | Martin Post | The Hospital For Sick Children | Senior Scientist | $385,956 | $385,956 |
| 4 | Paul Frankland | The Hospital For Sick Children | Senior Scientist | $356,618 | $357,536 |
| 5 | Sheena Josselyn | The Hospital For Sick Children | Senior Scientist | $356,618 | $357,536 |
| 6 | Liisa Galea | Centre For Addiction And Mental Health | Senior Scientist / Scientifique principale | $346,339 | $348,255 |
| 7 | Michael Tyers | The Hospital For Sick Children | Senior Scientist | $341,620 | $342,270 |
| 8 | David W Andrews | Sunnybrook Research Institute | Senior Scientist | $340,669 | $340,669 |
| 9 | Jayne Danska | The Hospital For Sick Children | Senior Scientist | $326,788 | $327,248 |
| 10 | Julie Forman-Kay | The Hospital For Sick Children | Senior Scientist | $325,191 | $326,110 |
By Year
Related Positions
- Registered Nurse31,254
- Manager2,664
- Nurse Practitioner1,832
- Social Worker1,812
- Pharmacist1,371
- Physiotherapist1,351
- Registered Practical Nurse1,317
- Occupational Therapist1,181
About these figures
Source: Ontario’s Public Sector Salary Disclosure (the “Sunshine List”), which names every public-sector employee paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year. Figures are disclosed salaries, not market compensation: anyone in this position earning under $100,000 does not appear, so medians here sit above the true median for the job.
Medians and percentiles use salary paid (benefits excluded), computed over records whose filed job title was normalized into this position. Titles are as each employer filed them; spellings, word order and bilingual forms are merged. Employers and years with fewer than five people show counts only. 2023: job titles were not disclosed, so that year has no position data. Titles before 2005 were abbreviated at source; the chart starts at 2005.
Data through 2025, the most recent Sunshine List disclosed.