Health and Safety Specialist Salary in Ontario (2025)
147 disclosed records, 2013–2025 · mostly Other Public Sector Employers (36%)
At a Glance
2025
Disclosed
31
2025 Sunshine List
Median Salary
$108,777
-11.0% vs provincial median
Typical Range
$104,924–$114,678
25th–75th percentile
Top Salary
$129,153
Who is the highest-paid Health and Safety Specialist in Ontario?
The highest-paid Health and Safety Specialist on the 2025 Sunshine List was Cathy Marra at York Catholic District School Board, with a salary of $129,153; the median among the 31 listed under this title was $108,777.
Take-Home Pay
(After Tax) · 2025 estimate
At the 2025 median salary of $108,777, a Health and Safety Specialist keeps roughly $79,991 after income tax, CPP and EI (about 21.4% effective), or about $6,666 a month. Across every sector the 2025 median was $122,262, so this position sits about 11% below it. The 2025 list carries 31 people filed as Health and Safety Specialist. This estimate leaves out pension contributions; members of OMERS, OTPP, HOOPP or OPTrust typically take home another 7–10% less.
- Estimated net pay
- ~$79,991
- Effective income-tax rate (excl. CPP/EI)
- ~21.4%
- CPP + EI contributions
- ~$5,507
- Per month, after tax
- ~$6,666
Where does $108,777 rank on the Sunshine List? →
Estimate only: 2025 federal and Ontario rates, basic personal amounts, Canada employment amount and CPP/EI credits; single, employment income only, salary treated as full-year income. Ignores pension contributions (OMERS, HOOPP, OTPP, OPTrust and similar plans lower actual take-home), union dues, RRSPs and benefits.
Median by Year
2005–2025
Median salary paid among disclosed records. 2023 is absent: job titles were not disclosed that year. Years with fewer than five people are omitted.
Where They Work
2025 · employers with 5+
| Employer | People | Median | Top | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Workplace Safety North | 8 | $107,383 | $116,522 | Pay here → |
Highest Paid
2025
| # | Name | Employer | Title as filed | Salary | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Cathy Marra | York Catholic District School Board | Specialist Health and Safety | $129,153 | $129,891 |
| 2 | Alicia Westfall | McMaster University | Health and Safety Specialist | $128,382 | $128,727 |
| 3 | Cheryl Beecroft | McMaster University | Health and Safety Specialist | $128,355 | $134,080 |
| 4 | Beverly Sharma | City Of Mississauga | Specialist, Health and Safety | $118,070 | $119,857 |
| 5 | Cindy Hung | Treasury Board Secretariat | Health and Safety Specialist | $117,317 | $117,460 |
| 6 | Subajinie Sathiyavanthan | McMaster University | Health and Safety Specialist | $116,856 | $122,541 |
| 7 | George Mondoux | Workplace Safety North | Health and Safety Specialist | $116,522 | $117,222 |
| 8 | Boratha Tan | Ottawa Community Housing Corporation | Health and Safety Specialist | $114,678 | $116,286 |
| 9 | Ron St. Jean | Workplace Safety North | Health and Safety Specialist | $114,646 | $115,493 |
| 10 | Tracey Brown | Treasury Board Secretariat | Health and Safety Specialist | $114,430 | $114,673 |
By Year
Related Positions
About these figures
Source: Ontario’s Public Sector Salary Disclosure (the “Sunshine List”), which names every public-sector employee paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year. Figures are disclosed salaries, not market compensation: anyone in this position earning under $100,000 does not appear, so medians here sit above the true median for the job.
Medians and percentiles use salary paid (benefits excluded), computed over records whose filed job title was normalized into this position. Titles are as each employer filed them; spellings, word order and bilingual forms are merged. Employers and years with fewer than five people show counts only. 2023: job titles were not disclosed, so that year has no position data.
Data through 2025, the most recent Sunshine List disclosed.