Medical Officer of Health Salary in Ontario (2025)
547 disclosed records, 1996–2025 · mostly Hospitals & Boards of Public Health (46%)
Last filed under this title in 2025. Fewer than 20 records in the latest Sunshine List, so this page is kept for history.
At a Glance
2025
Disclosed
18
2025 Sunshine List
Median Salary
$325,654
+166.4% vs provincial median
Typical Range
$266,142–$348,420
25th–75th percentile
Top Salary
$475,421
Who is the highest-paid Medical Officer of Health in Ontario?
The highest-paid Medical Officer of Health on the 2025 Sunshine List was Na-Koshie Lamptey at City Of Toronto, with a salary of $475,421; the median among the 18 listed under this title was $325,654.
Take-Home Pay
(After Tax) · 2025 estimate
A Medical Officer of Health paid the 2025 median of $325,654 would take home roughly $191,288 after income tax, CPP and EI — about $15,941 a month, an effective rate of about 39.6%. That is about 166% above the 2025 median across the whole list, $122,262. 18 people were listed under this title in 2025. Pension contributions — likely HOOPP in the Hospitals & Boards of Public Health sector — would typically trim another 7–10% off that figure.
- Estimated net pay
- ~$191,288
- Effective income-tax rate (excl. CPP/EI)
- ~39.6%
- CPP + EI contributions
- ~$5,507
- Per month, after tax
- ~$15,941
Where does $325,654 rank on the Sunshine List? →
Estimate only: 2025 federal and Ontario rates, basic personal amounts, Canada employment amount and CPP/EI credits; single, employment income only, salary treated as full-year income. Ignores pension contributions (OMERS, HOOPP, OTPP, OPTrust and similar plans lower actual take-home), union dues, RRSPs and benefits.
Median by Year
2005–2025
Median salary paid among disclosed records. 2023 is absent: job titles were not disclosed that year. Years with fewer than five people are omitted.
Highest Paid
2025
| # | Name | Employer | Title as filed | Salary | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Na-Koshie Lamptey | City Of Toronto | Medical Officer Of Health | $475,421 | $477,202 |
| 2 | Elizabeth Richardson | City Of Hamilton | Medical Officer of Health | $360,494 | $364,058 |
| 3 | Eileen P Devilla | City Of Toronto | Medical Officer Of Health | $352,054 | $354,247 |
| 4 | Kit Ngan Young Hoon | Board Of Health For The Northwestern Health Unit | Medical Officer of Health | $349,000 | $350,007 |
| 5 | Karalyn Dueck | County Of Lambton | Medical Officer of Health | $348,420 | $350,454 |
| 6 | Jason Morgenstern | Renfrew County And District Health Unit | Medical Officer of Health | $347,071 | $349,624 |
| 7 | Piotr Oglaza | Board of Health for the South East Health Unit | Medical Officer of Health | $345,918 | $347,263 |
| 8 | Alexander Summers | Middlesex – London Health Unit | Medical Officer of Health | $328,212 | $330,648 |
| 9 | Shanker Nesathurai | Municipality Of Chatham-Kent | Medical Officer Of Health | $328,012 | $328,012 |
| 10 | Mustafa Hirji | Public Health Sudbury And Districts | Medical Officer of Health | $323,296 | $323,766 |
By Year
Related Positions
- Registered Nurse31,254
- Manager2,664
- Nurse Practitioner1,832
- Social Worker1,812
- Pharmacist1,371
- Physiotherapist1,351
- Registered Practical Nurse1,317
- Occupational Therapist1,181
About these figures
Source: Ontario’s Public Sector Salary Disclosure (the “Sunshine List”), which names every public-sector employee paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year. Figures are disclosed salaries, not market compensation: anyone in this position earning under $100,000 does not appear, so medians here sit above the true median for the job.
Medians and percentiles use salary paid (benefits excluded), computed over records whose filed job title was normalized into this position. Titles are as each employer filed them; spellings, word order and bilingual forms are merged. Employers and years with fewer than five people show counts only. 2023: job titles were not disclosed, so that year has no position data. Titles before 2005 were abbreviated at source; the chart starts at 2005.
Data through 2025, the most recent Sunshine List disclosed.